We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant overlooking the Marina”
Review of Number 13

Number 13
Reserve with OpenTable
Number 13 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: At Number 13 Prime Steak and Seafood we believe in creating a unique experience for every guest. Our talented team of culinary artisans pay careful attention to the ingredients we use in every dish, ensuring that they are the best quality around. The passion that we have is infused into every item on the menu to guarantee the ultimate dining experience for anyone who spends an afternoon or evening with us. Located in beautiful Pelican Rest Marina, Number 13 boasts sweeping views of the water. Inside the restaurant, you'll be treated to upscale surroundings that maintain an air of warmth and welcome you to dine with friends and family. By the time you finish your meal, Number 13 will be your lucky number.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
622 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant overlooking the Marina”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Interesting twist on the Steak House with some very inventive dishes. The bread is like a Yorkshire Pudding which is actually very nice. I had the wedge salad appetizer which I enjoyed followed by the Wet Aged 16oz steak which was a bit overcooked but still excellent. The side dishes were excellent, especially the creamed Spinach. Not as good as some of the best steak restaurants in Houston but an excellent venue with a great view. It only opened in December 2013 so you get the feeling the staff are still getting up to full speed but very nice and friendly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doug G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    29
    13
    6
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 457 helpful votes
“At last the West side gets a first-class restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Almost everything about this restaurant is excellent. My friend had some kind of barnacles, I had Filet. Both were done to perfection. Sides were very tasty--attention had been paid to them. He said the drinks were good.

Service, my obsession, was first-class. Friendly, knowledgeable, professional. Attentive without being intrusive. Just a little late with the check.

Atmosphere is casual-elegant. Wonderful view of the boat basin. Furnishings well-appointed. Tonight it attracted a slightly upscale clientele, so coming in right off the beach is probably a bit gauche. And they turn the lights down too far at sunset--had a really hard time reading the check, or anything.

Downside: the two-chair tables are waaaay too small. With two people, everything is jammed together and very uncomfortable. So if there's two of you, wait for a four-seater.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank danny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A fresh addition to the Island”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Had heard many good things about Number 13; but just recently had the opportunity to try dinner,
Excellent! Perfect service, table, view and food,
Looking forward to our return to try more on the extensive menu.
It is expensive, but worth it.
It was also nice to see patrons dressed nicely at dinner.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3530cp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
287 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Beautiful venue, view & food - service still learning”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Opened December 2013, we tried for Galveston Restaurant Week & every table was taken on a Saturday night. Beautiful venue, open kitchen. Food is tasty, well presented, but portions not huge. Wedge is creatively done, which is hard for a wedge! Extensive wine list. Both wet & dry-aged beef is available. "House bread" is irresistible popovers. High ceiling makes for a loud atmosphere. Located just over the causeway from mainland, so easily accessible. Outdoor bar with seating but so far too cold, overlooking marina & Moody Gardens across the way. Service still learning, but attentive.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LucyLu_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Much needed addition to Galveston restaurant choices”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

4.5 stars. We have been there two times and have enjoyed our experience each time.

The decor is comfortable and modern at the same time.

The servers are very friendly and seem to really want to be there serving you. However, two out of three waiters were quite ignorant of the menu items and basic fine dining foods. (That is creme fraiche you served with the caviar, not "butter"). That being said, I will take friendly and attentive over any other type of waiter.

The food was very good and could be excellent with a few tweaks. The caviar was perfect. We chose the least expensive one--yum! The caviar set-up was just right, keeping the caviar the star.

The raw oysters were also very tasty, but there is a problem with the set-up. They are served with a small cup of cocktail sauce and one of mignonette (I think). They did not provide any utensils with which to scoop up the sauces. I tried dipping an oyster in the mignonette, but that overpowered the taste of the oyster. Note to management: get some little spoons.

The ribeye steak is quite thin therefore apparently hard to cook to a medium temperature. Maybe I will ask for medium rare next time.

The filet with bone marrow sous vide was a bit of a gloppy mess. I recently had a filet prepared sous vide at True restaurant in Montgomery, Alabama and it was one of the best steaks I have ever eaten. Note to Chef: Call True and ask them heir method, I believe they use a lower temperature than you do--and maybe the bone marrow is overkill.

Dessert-- to die for! The selection is excellent and not just an afterthought.

Number 13 is a great addition to the Galveston dining scene. If I have been picky in the review it is because at these prices I have higher expectations. I hope the Owners/Managers/Chefs read this and consider my suggestions.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NancyJNorthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Number 13 also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Number 13? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing