We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top class food”
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #110 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Top class food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

I ordered the lobster with shrimp and scallops. It was beautiful, one of the best meals I have had in America. However the service was fast, in fact too fast. I was asked for my sweet order while still eating my lobster and given the bill while still eating my key lime pie. The waiters were actually running. I think they must have been under scrutiny from a man sitting on his own with a laptop taking notes. I was impressed with the food.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pops272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    89
    54
    38
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
“So good we went eat twice!!!”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

This was our first time eating at Joe's Crabshack. The staff was friendly and the service was great both times. The food was fantastic!!! We loved the atmosphere. We will definitely go back and we highly recommend this restaurant to anyone in Galveston!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Me and my husband came here because we love Joe's Crab Shack. This place took over an hour to get our food to us. The place was busy but I think that is a ridiculous time for your food to be delivered to you. Our waitress never offered us drink refills either.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“party place allows dogs on patio”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

There food is always good, we had a great time. it is very noisy and kids are running everywhere on there patio, but it is a lot of fun

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst place to go !!”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

After 30 minutes of waiting for someone to take our drink order we decided to leave. We sat by the kitchen, so every waitress/waiter walked by us and not one person asked if we had been helped. The staff look ed pissed off and sloppy, the manager was a total idiot and the place was dirty. Your best bet is to go next door to another restaurant

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandi2157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing