We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better Choices Elewhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #106 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Better Choices Elewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

If you are going to Galveston, unless you really like the chain restaurants I would suggest going to one of the unique island places instead of Joes. Its good , but you can find Joes everywhere. Save Joes for more of an everyday place in your hometown and while in Galveston try a locals restaurant.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank fred s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    84
    50
    37
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metairie, Louisiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

The service was great, but the popcorn shrimp we had was a little bland. I was disappointed because I usually love their food. I don't know if it h
Was the chef that night or what but I don't think I will go there again when I return to Galveston.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rae6504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
473 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“We really liked it !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

A party of 6 went last night for dinner and we were all satisfied with the great service and the food. Nothing to complain about and the food was what I expected.fair price, great service and tasty food. Had the crab stuffed shrimp with dirty rice and enjoyed it.happy hour from 4 to 7 and from 9 to 11 pm

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank xochitl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lost its soul”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Ever met an old girl friend and remembered her differently? Well that's what happened to me I went here a few years back and it was great, atmosphere rough charm, a proper theme restaurant that didn't feel like one. The new rebuild has taken its soul, and let it go. Gone is the charm, in is the warehouse feel that could be anywhere, a real shame. The food is good but very expensive and it just added to my feeling of a corporate machine out to make money not a great restaurant. Sorry but I've fallen out of love with one of my favourite places. Doubt I'll be back with the family.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leon, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better then the last two times.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This was better than the last two times we've been here. There is still help needed at this restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing