We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Yaga's Tropical Cafe
Ranked #41 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place stays pretty busy. But you get a lot and good quality of food for what you pay for. It's has a great atmosphere. Staff can be pretty busy but when I've been there, they are still on top of things.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahTohlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    125
    36
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
560 reviews
375 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Always Good”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Eaten here many times in the past year. The food has always been good...nothing to jump and down about but consistent and good. He'll it's just burgers, chicken, pizza salads etc...it's not fine dining and not meant to be. Def fits a need on The Strand. The staff has usually been good and observant. The prices are in line with the food same with the drinks.
They have an adjacent patio that's very large and is next to the park next door and The Strand so if it's not too hot sit out there and enjoy the weather while you people watch. They have live bands in the evenings, I haven't been there during one of the shows but will update when and if I do.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Montecore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“tonight's visit”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I live on the island and went for an evening supper at Yagas. The "cafe" was not busy but the service was AWFUL and the food was not much better. I am so embarrassed that our tourist would eat there. It is not one of Galveston's finest.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good Food, Service Questionable”
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We ate their 2 nights during my visit. The first time was good, environment is positive food is standard. It's a good place to take kids, well so we thought. The next day, my Mother took my Son for breakfast. Things were okay, until they went to the restroom. My mother notified the waitress that they would be right back. Somehow there was a miscommunication and when my Mom returned they had taken all of their food (they were not finished) and had accused my Mom of leaving without paying. It took another table to remind the waitress that she went to the bathroom. Hmmmm.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank R0llinSt0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, decent price.”
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Ate a white pizza and added chicken and it was delicious. Fairly priced and decent service. Not a bad place to go on the Strand.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank laslaslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yaga's Tropical Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Yaga's Tropical Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing