We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My new favorite in the houston/ Galveston area!”

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 20th Street
Description: When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
243 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“My new favorite in the houston/ Galveston area!”
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

My family could not praise this restaurant enough. The service is supreme and the food does not disappoint. We loved the plantains and salsas along with the red snapper ceviche appetizers. For dinner the fish dishes were prepared perfectly. The bread pudding is incredible and a nice finish to such a perfect dinner. For the service and quality of food it is nice that this restaurant is not as fussy as some others that I have been to, but you do need to wear pants (no shorts)and a collared shirt. You also need to make a reservation since it is quite busy. We will be back again!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Kkgriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    80
    24
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Anniversary Dinner”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

We went to Rudy and Paco's for our anniversary. Wonderful food and service. Just a reminder - no shorts and reservations are recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RKHF58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice Island upscale”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Reviews are pretty much spot on. "Upscale" for Galveston, which just means khakis and a golf shirt, but it's well worth it when you're maxed out on burgers and pizza. Our grouper and our snapper were just about perfectly prepared, one with a cilantro/lime topping, one with a crab/butter -- both excellent. Nice wine list. Perfect choice to celebrate a special occasion on the island. We shall return.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank HoustonTexatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Good food and generous servings. The service was great. My husband enjoyed the bar drinks but I was disappointed in the wine list.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank meeoow68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful, wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Rudy and Paco's Restaurant is a fabulous place to eat in a relaxed and elegant atmosphere. It is a small local business with the absolute best service I have ever experienced. We have eaten there two years in a row while visiting Galveston. This year was just as fabulous as last. The food is outstanding. I like their fish dishes, and don't really like fish. That means the fish must be very fresh and the preparation perfect. Don't miss this place if you like fine dining. They will not seat one in the dining room if wearing shorts, but it is not a fussy place. It appears that many locals come straight from their offices to enjoy the great bar and delicious meals.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jaejae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing