We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss it!”

Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar
Reserve with OpenTable
Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 314 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 20th Street
Description: When visiting Galveston Island, you simply can't miss the Island's most unique dining experience, Rudy & Paco. Rudy & Paco features grilled seafood and steak with a South and Central American sabor. Relax and unwind with your favorite cocktail while enjoying delicious Antojitos. Rudy & Paco is located next door to The Grand 1894 Opera House, and is a great choice for pre-show dinner specials. Dinner: No shorts (men or women), hats/caps, or sleeveless shirts for men. Lunch: Smart Casual
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't miss it!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

This is head over heels above any other restaurant in Galveston! The service is superb! The food is first-class. Don't miss the soft shelled crab if you happen to be there when it's in season. Have never had a bad meal here!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tutu1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    560
    81
    24
    13
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best meal on the Island”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Words can't describe how wonderful our meal at Rudy & Paco's was, the staff was very attentive, the owners came and spoke to every table in the restaurant. Due to my shellfish allergy the chef was very helpful in designing me a work of art (truly this is the best way to describe an entree) that was perfect for my needs. The nostalgic atmosphere is one that should not be missed, restaurants like these are hard to come by so take the time to eat here. I would recommend a reservation; otherwise you may have a wait time because this is a very popular restaurant. A+++ rating, highly recommend!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 1TravelMomGuru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We tried Rudy & Paco after reading great reviews and were not disappointed! It's quaint and elegant, and we won't miss this place on future trips. Our table had steak, fish, and shellfish, and it was all superb! If you can only pick one restaurant in Galveston, pick here!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 2stonesthrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Excelent Service”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

If you are looking for great food and great service, you can expect it at Rudy and Paco's! One of my favorite dishes is the Filete de Pargo Horno (Gulf red snapper baked with a lemon garlic/butter sauce) which is really delicious! A second favorite is the Pollo Empanizado (chicken breast encrusted with plantains, cotija cheese and sour cream
over black bean sauce, maduro and yuca). These two dishes are in the upper $20's but well worth the price. And add to that, the excellent service, you can't go wrong at Rudy and Paco's. Check out the wall while you are there and look at some of the photos of celebrities that have dined there.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank space-traveler-hou55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lumberton Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Real Surprise”
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We saw this restaurant while going to another on the same block. We enjoy a white table cloth restaurant on occasion and it was the right occasion being in Galveston for Christmas 2012. We made reservations eventhough it wasn't necessary and I sat at the ornate bar while waiting for my wife to show from working. The bar keep and a waiter that hadn't started his shift talked about the high-quality selections, especially the scotch, and we had a very pleasant conversation. After my wife arrived we were seated in a cozy part of the room to begin our perusal of the menu. The food was all chef prepared and done to perfection. The service was top notch, the wine selection adequate, but again the atmosphere was one of style and grace. This was a real treat and I made a point to tell the owner/manager that was present!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aslee1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Rudy & Paco Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing