We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great kayak tour with knowledgeable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach Town Tours

Beach Town Tours
Ranked #13 of 66 Tours in Galveston
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great kayak tour with knowledgeable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We did a two-hour kayak tour with Julie during the month of January. She was an extremely professional, friendly and knowledgeable guide and made our trip really fun. The 2 hour tour is a good (but comfortable) workout, and is just the right amount of time to see the island without getting too tiring. It's a really nice way to see a different perspective of the island. You get a great view of some of the beautiful holiday homes, a wide range of sea birds and an interesting stop on an oyster bank. Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A fantastic Saturday outing with family and friends...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

My sister, our significant others, and I had an absolutely outstanding time kayaking with Julie and Mike this weekend. I was happy to see that the equipment was kept in impeccable shape and updated, which made paddling easier for all of us! Julie and Mike are truly passionate about the environment and kayaking. There was never a dull moment on the trip. She was knowledgeable about the wildlife and beach houses in the area which made it an informative and interesting trip. We chose a beach house/marsh kayaking tour and saw a plethora of wildlife including stone crabs, conchs, oyster bars, fish, spoon bills, herons, oyster catchers, pelicans within an arms length, and several other fascinating and beautiful animals. We are not experienced kayakers but it was a breeze to pick up. I enjoyed the freedom of being able to paddle around excitedly and in a way pick out our own path with Julie's watchful eye keeping us out of harms way of course! This is an absolutely perfect idea for couples, families with teens, friends, and even solo riders looking to pick up a new hobby or get some exercise. We will DEFINITELY be returning to try out another tour. Use the restroom before you get to launch site.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel0890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmp10
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Mike and Julie are great hosts, very knowledgeable and accommodating. Loved the tour and was a great workout. Would recommend this to anyone novice or professionall without knowledge of Galveston Bay. Julie and Mike can adapt to whatever level of experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank cmp10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau Bay
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Spectacular wildlife while kayaking!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Our family kayaked at sunset with Mike and Julie, whom we found very knowledgable and accommodating. Mike interacted easily with all of us, peppering the evening with his humor. He even switched places with a member who experienced an uncomfortable fit in the kayak! They're well versed in the regional wildlife and the waterways. Julie smoothly handled all administrative details, which included a weather cancellation and rescheduling. Julie and Mike work beautifully together and easily earned our tip. Nice to learn their business is growing and they're adapting to the resulting growing pain. Make your reservation now!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank 1Sam39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beach Town Tours also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Beach Town Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing