We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Gumbo Diner

Gumbo Diner
Ranked #12 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Seafood, Diner, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dallas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

Had a wonderful breakfast here. My egg-white omelet was well cooked and very savory. The beignets are amazing! It's a bit pricey, and we did not have any other meals, so I can only review the breakfast. Service was good.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    123
    50
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
103 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Just Okay...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent the weekend in Galveston, wanted to try some gumbo. Had been seeing their ads and decided to try it. It was Restaurant Week, so we got a package deal for a fixed price, which was good. Had a small Caesar salad, Seafood gumbo, and bread pudding, all for $10 - the lunch price. The salad was okay, fresh, lots of cheese; the generous portion of gumbo was pretty good, had lots of shrimp, crab, and oysters, and the dessert was a basic bread pudding with chocolate topping.
The young wait staff were courteous and attentive. All in all, it was okay, but if we had been charged the dinner price of $20 each, I would have been upset.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tallred727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“disappointing”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

we were looking forward to trying the new gumbo diner on seawall.
The seafood gumbo they forgot the oysters. The hamburgers were frozen patties without any fries. The chicken fried chicken was edible, potatoes were lukewarm, and the french bread was uncooked. Comparing this location to the other location of Gumbo Diner, they were missing the ciopolino (which we enjoy) and did not have sweet potato fries. Terribly idsappointing since the staff was nice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank scrabbler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice for a late evening meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a small late dinner meal. We decided a nice bowl of gumbo might be just what we needed. I thought the $9 per bowl price was a bit high for the small bowl, but the portion was huge. It wasn't a cup at all; it was a chef salad bowl size. Our server was very attentive even though it was near closing time. I would love to go back and try the beignets.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4catcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
369 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Beignets on the seawall!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

I would not have eaten here for breakfast except my wife wanted to try the beignets, but I am glad we did!! We were warmly greeted by Lela, the manager and Shay, our wonderful server! My wife had her usual girlie girl breakfast, this time a egg-white veggie omelet, while I had a real breakfast! My glorious breakfast included a crisp waffle lathered in butter, then I took the 3 slices of bacon I ordered on the side and crumbled them on top of the waffle! I then thinly sliced 1/2 of the slab of ham I ordered on top of all of that and covered the whole thing in warm syrup! I love southern breakfasts!! Finally, to top of this "ELF" size breakfast, we split a pair of sugar coated yummy beignets! They were so good we came back for a late night dessert, but this time we added chocolate syrup and ice cream! While we were there for our late night snack, we sat at the bar and noticed the counter guy was making a delicious bowl of gumbo. I know it was delicious because he was kind enough to serve my wife and I perfect bite size portion! Great service, great food, great view!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank michael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gumbo Diner also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gumbo Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing