We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added TownePlace Suites Galveston Island to your Saves list
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Member Rates
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
Lexington, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed there last week for vacation and it was great. Everyone was very helpful and nice. The rooms are very clean and the pool area was great. They offer free wifi. We will be staying here again the next time we are in Galvaston.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denisea1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We take great pride in ensuring that each and every guest feels at home. We take every opportunity to better our team so that we may provide excellent customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    61
    39
    21
    9
See reviews for
99
46
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mottram cheshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We are here now for 10 nights and nothing seen so far that I recognîze in the negative reviews ,these must have been one off bad days and unfortunate for those involved .check in fast and efficient and little blip with room selection from t.a information wrongly supplied was swiftly solved to our satisfaction .breakfast for free was adequate and was as described at 8.45 the staff were visibly refilling everything to ensure everyone had the full choice ,as we left at 9 there was still full selection ,the pool ,lovely and clean ,plenty of towels and space ,umbrellas and cabanas .and a pool bar that served drinks and snacks til late ,facilities at the courtyard next door were available for us to use with a bistro restaurant there.all in all perfect for a sea side break

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank micklees1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you so much for reviewing our property. We are glad to hear that you have been enjoying your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSoto, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Marriott TownPlace over the 4th of July Holiday. The staff was great, John the shuttle guy was awesome. He took us anywhere we wanted to go and also picked us up. Really friendly person.

Our main purpose for choosing this hotel was the pool and how nice it looked on-line. But once we there it was quite nasty. The water was litterally green. My kids didn't even want to get in it. Very upsetting and we only got in once during our stay. The hotel is also pet friendly, but allowed large dogs, which to me made the hotel look bad.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2014denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are terribly sorry that our property was not quite up to par with cleanliness during your time with us. Rest assure we have made many operational improvements and since have raised and maintained our standards of cleanliness. We hope for the opportunity to have you back in the future so that we may make a better and long lasting impression. Again we appreciate the review.

Sincerely,
Bobbi Gonzales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved this place for our family vacation to the ocean. Great rooms and nice pool with the poolside bar and decent food selection. The big disappointment was the breakfast though - in high season most of the items will end well more than an hour till the breakfast ends (that would happen several days in a row so not just an unfortunate occasion) and when inquired of the stuff if they could help with anything they would just make 'bad luck, it's busy season' faces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
We value you as a Marriott guest and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The value was good. We got a clean room with a kitchenette. The hotel room was a bit cramped but it was nice. The staff was so sweet and very accommodating. We absolutely loved the pool with the cabanas and outdoor pub. Night swimming in the pool that changes colors while listening to great music was super nice. The continental breakfast was ok not grand but ok. The bistro in the a joining marriot courtyard was great. The room service was average.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Griswalds101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations for our guest.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I dislike writing bad reviews, but since I use TA a lot for making traveling decisions, I decided I needed to do my part and get this out there.

This hotel is only about a year old. BTW, as noted in other reviews it it not on the beach if that is important to you; it is behind a courtyard that is on Seawall Blvd and the ocean is across from that. The problems started upon arrival:

1. Rooms reserved not the ones provided. This was a major problem. We reserved two rooms, each with two queen beds. We got two rooms with one king each, a problem since there were 5 of us; we asked to be moved but of course we were told that there were no other rooms available. I slept on the pull-out sofa bed, but only after stacking the paper-thin mattress from our other room on top of ours. Not too, too bad, but not what we had paid for. The management gave us a small discount, but this was not the point; we should have gotten what we had arranged for. Had we known they were not going to honor their end of the bargain we would have said "No thanks" and reserved elsewhere.

2. Room Keys. I don't know why this was such a problem. We asked for two keys for each room, but only one key worked for each room. When we would take the functional key back to the desk, they would give us another key but in the process it would disable our one good key. Finally fixed after 4 trips to the front desk.

3. Swimming pool down all day on our first full day there to "clean the filters", a job that should take no more than an hour (at most). When the pool was open the next day, there was a filthy muck on about 15-20% of the pool surface; a foamy slime that looked like bird poop. We didn't swim in the pool for the entire length of our stay due to this questionable cleanliness.

4. Came back to our room one night to find breakers tripped and power to AC off; unusual in a hotel only a year old. Made me wonder about the electrical situation here (see "6", below).

5. Breakfast was very skimpy, so be prepared. It is Continental only; no hot foods provided and cold foods were sparse.

6. Electricity went out for two hours on last morning of our stay. The front desk said it was a transformer and that the outage was area wide, but frankly I was skeptical of this given the other poor customer service performance during our stay.

Overall, I would recommend steering clear of this property unless corrective action is taken. The staff is friendly, but there is a difference between being friendly and doing a good job (while being friendly).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisingcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as a Marriott guest and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

The room is good and I like the location since we prefer beaches on west side of island, but breakfast is only cereal and toast, pool is skanky green, no bell hops to help with luggage, poor food and drink selection in lobby store, and they don't allow food deliveries past lobby.

Room Tip: Get west side room for view of field and possibly the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seyemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with some of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as a Marriott Rewards member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Galveston Island
Courtyard Galveston Island
#18 of 50 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 239 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#20 of 50 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.4 mi away
Casa Del Mar Beachfront Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Galveston Island

Property: TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 50 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Galveston Island 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your TownePlace Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing