We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place but poor breakfast organization”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Longview, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Awesome place but poor breakfast organization”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Loved this place for our family vacation to the ocean. Great rooms and nice pool with the poolside bar and decent food selection. The big disappointment was the breakfast though - in high season most of the items will end well more than an hour till the breakfast ends (that would happen several days in a row so not just an unfortunate occasion) and when inquired of the stuff if they could help with anything they would just make 'bad luck, it's busy season' faces.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.
We value you as a Marriott guest and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    82
    52
    22
    11
See reviews for
135
62
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

The value was good. We got a clean room with a kitchenette. The hotel room was a bit cramped but it was nice. The staff was so sweet and very accommodating. We absolutely loved the pool with the cabanas and outdoor pub. Night swimming in the pool that changes colors while listening to great music was super nice. The continental breakfast was ok not grand but ok. The bistro in the a joining marriot courtyard was great. The room service was average.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Griswalds101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations for our guest.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I dislike writing bad reviews, but since I use TA a lot for making traveling decisions, I decided I needed to do my part and get this out there.

This hotel is only about a year old. BTW, as noted in other reviews it it not on the beach if that is important to you; it is behind a courtyard that is on Seawall Blvd and the ocean is across from that. The problems started upon arrival:

1. Rooms reserved not the ones provided. This was a major problem. We reserved two rooms, each with two queen beds. We got two rooms with one king each, a problem since there were 5 of us; we asked to be moved but of course we were told that there were no other rooms available. I slept on the pull-out sofa bed, but only after stacking the paper-thin mattress from our other room on top of ours. Not too, too bad, but not what we had paid for. The management gave us a small discount, but this was not the point; we should have gotten what we had arranged for. Had we known they were not going to honor their end of the bargain we would have said "No thanks" and reserved elsewhere.

2. Room Keys. I don't know why this was such a problem. We asked for two keys for each room, but only one key worked for each room. When we would take the functional key back to the desk, they would give us another key but in the process it would disable our one good key. Finally fixed after 4 trips to the front desk.

3. Swimming pool down all day on our first full day there to "clean the filters", a job that should take no more than an hour (at most). When the pool was open the next day, there was a filthy muck on about 15-20% of the pool surface; a foamy slime that looked like bird poop. We didn't swim in the pool for the entire length of our stay due to this questionable cleanliness.

4. Came back to our room one night to find breakers tripped and power to AC off; unusual in a hotel only a year old. Made me wonder about the electrical situation here (see "6", below).

5. Breakfast was very skimpy, so be prepared. It is Continental only; no hot foods provided and cold foods were sparse.

6. Electricity went out for two hours on last morning of our stay. The front desk said it was a transformer and that the outage was area wide, but frankly I was skeptical of this given the other poor customer service performance during our stay.

Overall, I would recommend steering clear of this property unless corrective action is taken. The staff is friendly, but there is a difference between being friendly and doing a good job (while being friendly).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raisingcain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as a Marriott guest and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

The room is good and I like the location since we prefer beaches on west side of island, but breakfast is only cereal and toast, pool is skanky green, no bell hops to help with luggage, poor food and drink selection in lobby store, and they don't allow food deliveries past lobby.

Room Tip: Get west side room for view of field and possibly the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seyemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with some of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as a Marriott Rewards member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Rates double on weekend. Should tell people is a shock. Still loved every thing do not eat breakfast there. Clean staff friendly helpful even when very busy. Retired so even dollar counts. Should point out to people an not assume everyone knows rates change.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank 48turtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

Pet friendly. Great staff found us a room o July 2 for through the 4th! Downstairs large area for dogs. See ocean from our room just across the street. Went above an beyond. Have hard boiled eggs for those of us who need protein. Would like a Texas shape waffle maker. But can make any thing I want in my room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51turtles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel you received great service. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We will be sure to pass your kind words along to our staff. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2014

1) 45 min wait for room to be cleaned despite arriving way after the allotted check in time. Got to the room and food and black stains, straws and everything else was all over the floor, used bars of soap were in the bathroom, bath supplies and kitchen utensils and dish liquid and kitchen towels were not replenished. The bath tub showed clear signs that it had been recently used but not cleaned

I had to walk down to the front desk to request that someone come in and vacuum the room

2. Sheets had hair and stains. Only later did I realize that there was a bed sheet on the sofa bed which had never been changed and was dirty.

3.No towels in the bathrooms. For two straight days, I walked down to the front desk to get fresh towels.

4. Refrigerator portion of fridge/freezer not cooling.
3 hours of waiting, around 10pm a man who identified himself as the shuttle bus driver came up with towels and peeked in the fridge and told me that maintenance would be in the following morning to look at it, but of course that never happened.

5. Day 3, needed to change towels since not enough were at the poolside and we needed fresh towels, after about 4 hours of waiting for requested towels, a young man who identified himself as "just having driven all the way from ...somewhere" brought some towels and mentioned that the hotel had some staff quit and as such was in a predicament.

6. cleaning lady showed up at the door once with her cleaning cart but did not come in the room to clean or make the beds. She stopped at the door and asked me what I needed and I pulled the trash and gave it to her

I must say however that I was given a slight adjustment on my bill and promised miles. The adjustment happened but not the miles. We just decided to make the best of a disappointing situation. I sent a message to the marriott customer service department and the response I got stated that the night auditor would get in touch with me......let's just say, I'm still waiting to hear from that person.

Room Tip: If you're looking for clear shot view of the water, you need to stay at the courtyard which sits...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ngeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobbi G, Manager at TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Ngeh ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re very sorry you were not satisfied with the cleanliness of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as a Marriott Rewards member and while we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Bobbi Gonzales
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
149 reviews
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing