We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“One night before Cruise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TownePlace Suites Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“One night before Cruise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stayed here one Saturday night before getting on a Carnival Cruise ship. We took advantage of their parking offer (if you stay at least one night, you can leave your car in their lot while on your cruise for no charge - they have a shuttle van to take you to / from the port).

The room was nice (after all, this is a brand new hotel) and typical for a TownePlace Suites Hotel. The hotel is on the same property as a Courtyard (in fact, the TownePlace Suites sits behind the Courtyard).

I did not even look at the pool so I have no review of that. We did try to buy some snacks from the front desk and they were picked clean (only a few sodas and some chips left). The Courtyard's selection was better (i.e. stocked).

Location is not horrible, although I believe it is away from any action. You would have to drive to get anywhere fun on the island (we went to Pleasure Pier to eat a Bubba Gumps - $10 to park).

The hotel is directly across a 5 lane avenue from the ocean. The "beach" at this location appears to be nothing but rocks. We didn't actually go down to the beach by the hotel but we didn't see anyone else there either.

Be careful when looking for the hotel the first time. The signage is low and blocked by trees Also, the lot snakes around from one side to the other before heading straight back to the where TownePlace front desk is.

We could see the ocean from our room, although it was not a direct view (i.e. we had to look to our left).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BugsOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Thank you for the review, we certainly appreciate your opinion and will use this to our advantage to work on the things we need to and keep doing what we are excelling at.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    65
    41
    21
    9
See reviews for
106
47
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The front desk people were helpful and friendly. However, when we checked in, our bathroom had hair on the floor, as well as on the kitchen floor. This is unacceptable. we noticed the floors were very dirty as you walk into the hotel at several doors entering hotel. Not impressed.

I do think the owner of this hotel made a poor decision as far as the size and design of hotel rooms, the floor plans are not very functional in the suites. The breakfast/lobby area is a total disaster during breakfast hours. I really felt badly for the two ladies who were trying to keep up with all the people. There was not enough room and there was no food to serve. Saturday morning at 8:50 a.m. I was told there was no more cereal. Breakfast is not over until 9:30 a.m. There was no food anywhere. Eggs were gone, cereal was out, muffins were gone. People were everywhere, sitting on window seals, standing and being VERY vocal in regards to the lack of room and food. I think one of the problems is that the Courtyard serves breakfast but for a fee. At the TownePlace Suites, breakfast is free.

The two hotels, Courtyard and TownePlace Suites share the same pool, this makes for a very crowded pool area, especially on the week-end. The pool is very nice, when not crowded. We also enjoyed the sea wall, across the street. It would be nice if they had a bridge/walkover to the sea wall, the traffic is a bit scary walking across this four lane highway.

We will not be back at this location because of the size of hotel rooms, extremely crowded lobby area for breakfast and dirty floors throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor, quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank intime011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We are disappointed that you had a terrible experience at our hotel. We are striving to improve where we can and we appreciate the review. This lets us know exactly where to put our efforts and have made many improvements since your stay with us. Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Hotel is new, very clean and extremely friendly staff. We loved our 2 bedroom suite and the pool is perfect with beach entry, a water fall and comfy cabanas. Thank you to front desk ladies Delores and Natalia for making us feel so at home on our second stay. We enjoyed great food and drinks at the pool with bartender Mike! For those not familiar with Galveston, the beach is across the street on the seawall. (This hotel is behind Comfort Inn) I highly recommend this hotel and we cannot wait to come back again! What a GEM, glad we found it.

Room Tip: Room 3001 is the best! 2 bedrooms with kitchen and facing the pool with beach view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SteFKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathy N, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to provide our guests the best service possible. We have a wonderful staff here and we are happy to know that our guests appreciate it. We look forward to your return and look forward to seeing you again at TownePlace Suites.

Kathy Nunez
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed only one night because short on time. Enjoyed the pool and pool bar. Decent prices. Nice rooms but pillow was a little uncomfortable. Other than that it was great! They allow pets. The room has a fridge ,stove , and dishwasher. Also we had a very large bathroom

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank geoknowitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cody B, Manager at TownePlace Suites Galveston Island, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Its is great that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future. Also we offer two kinds of pillows (feather and foam), this may help with your comfort on your next stay. We always want our guests to have a comfortable night's rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel last minute when hotel selection on the island was limited due to a shrimp festival. We were not disappointed. The pool/bar area is amazing and the view of the ocean and wetlands from our second floor room were very peaceful. The hotel is new and very clean. Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bulverde, Texas
Level Contributor
139 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

an extremely small room!! very suprised about the breakfast...only breads, boiled eggs, and cereals...nothing hot at all. Breakfast area very crowded! I can't believe this is a Marriott brand hotel! The bed was very comfortable and the pool area is the best part. Drinks are very expensive!! $9 for a pina colada in a plastic cup...come on really! Also, the "sofa" is not really a sofa...it's very narrow both the cushions and the width of the sofa. It's smaller than ur average loveseat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciera1love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here recently. The hotel is very nice, new, & clean. The staff is very friendly & helpful. Every time we had a request it was handled immediately with kindness. We took our lab with us & were pleased to find a truly pet friendly hotel that was clean! The resort style pool was unexpected & awesome as well! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brookeyrollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Galveston Island
Courtyard Galveston Island
#18 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
3.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#22 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 stars 130 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Galveston Island

Property: TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — TownePlace Suites Galveston Island 2*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Marriott, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your TownePlace Suites Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing