We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too crowded even in peak time.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not too crowded even in peak time.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Michael, the front desk person, addressed us by name every time he saw us and went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. It felt upscale in that regard. We chose this hotel because it a pet area that is fenced in and lets you little ones play. We also spent most of our time at the beach, but ended up really liking the pool and bar at the pool, so we hung out there pretty often as well. Nice clean rooms and the staff was always accessible for anything extra you needed. There were no hidden fees or hassles. I travel for work (lots) and this made it a quiet nice place to hang out. Only thing that could have made it better is if the hotel had designed some rooms to open up to the pool area directly and that the pet area was available on the ground floor. You had to take an elevator down to that. But these are little things after all. Thanks you so much Michael if you read this. You were the best!

Room Tip: Request first floor rooms as the stairwells got warm during the day. Pool side of the hotel was much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donovan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    82
    50
    22
    11
See reviews for
134
61
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights and I'm so glad we did. It didn't have any pictures here so a bit hesitant on staying but when viewing the reviews, took a chance. I did submit my own pictures after the stay.

The room:
This place is new. I loved that fact. It was very clean. Cold ac. Fully equipped kitchen and I didn't find anything amiss. No oven but that was ok by me.
Did get the extra pillows and towels that was requested. Although they were feather instead of foam.
Bedding was super clean and comfortable.
All in all, Room was comfortable and spacious. Lots of lights.

Pool was fantastic and is in the middle of and shared by the Marriott courtyard. Bar and food by the pool, eat and drink at the bar or they will come up to you and deliver at your table or even at the pool. Clean bathrooms next to shower by the pool. Extra towels ready for use and a bin for the used ones.
One feature that really stuck out was the handicap accessible pool lift.

Staff was ok. Check in was a bit cold. Overnight was trying to be somewhat personable. Day front desk was very nice and helped with directions. Didn't encounter cleaning staff much but they smiled when passing by.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brownfamily2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallettsville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

One of the newest hotel/suites in Galveston, beautiful decor, super clean rooms, beautiful pool! The kitchenette was impressive and well stocked, pool was beautiful, room was immaculate with TONS of cabinets.. Very impressed with the quality of the room, loved the location, quiet and away from the hustle & bustle of the Strand.. Loved our trip and fell in love with Galveston! See ya next summer Galveston!

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor facing the sea wall, however this hotel is located behind the Courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KJSchumacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed there on may 23, when we checked in we had some of the best customer service I have ever received. The girl at the front desk was super sweet and tried to do everything she could to help us, I believe she was the manager. she gave us some great suggestions on where to eat and where to visit. I loved the room we had, we had an amazing view of the pool which is gorgeous. It has an beautiful waterfall and was warm to. The pool bar added a nice touch to everything. the only thing that could have been better was how long we stayed we didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: the two bedroom suite is my favorite nice kitchen and the one we stayed in had a great view of the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The rooms were immaculate and the pool with it's cabanas and poolside cafe were the perfect place to spend the entire day! We went to the beach only once because the of the seaweed. Plus, our kids preferred the pool with its stone waterfall and good music playing in the background.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank shadisidarous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groves, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a great hotel. The service was excellent which care given to the details. The rooms were spotless and well stocked. The pool area was very nice. There was a full service bar for drinks and a waitress walking around to service your every need food or drinks. The employees made sure during the day that the restrooms were stocked and clean, pool towel rack stayed full.Employees made sure you were well taken care of

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank PNG81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

However, we saw a roach in our room. The room was slightly smaller than expected, but nice and well equipped. The pool that is shared with the Courtyard is fun for the kids and there is a bar next to it for the adults. The breakfast is the same as all other Towneplace Suites: sparse. Bring your own food or eat in the Courtyard.

The property is far down the west end of Seawall Blvd, so don't expect to be within walking distance of the Pleasure Pier.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank me4osu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Galveston
Candlewood Suites Galveston
#24 of 51 in Galveston
148 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9540 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly TownePlace Suites Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is perfect for an extended stay in Galveston, TX. We provide many opportunities to have adventures all around Galveston like along the Galveston Seawall, which is steps away from our Galveston Beach hotel. Near our accommodations, you will find Schlitterbahn Galveston Island Waterpark Moody Gardens. Should you be traveling to Galveston on business, you will be near downtown Galveston's top offices and corporations - and you will appreciate our on-site business center and meeting room. All guests can enjoy our Galveston Beach hotel's many amenities, which include complimentary breakfast, an outdoor pool and pool bar, a fitness center, and free Wi-Fi. TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island is an all-suite hotel offering gracious service and spacious guest suites, with comfortable beds and plenty of room to spread out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing