We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
479 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Solid Place to Stay”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We decided to drive up Saturday night from San Antonio, the day before our cruise out of Galveston. The Courtyard was about 30 minutes away from the port but a lot closer than SA.

The hotel was very modern and clean. The room was small but designed well with nice bathrooms. It was by no means, the best room I've ever stayed in but for the price, it was great.

The service was average. The only complaint I have is the line in the morning to get breakfast. We waited so long that we actually just left instead to grab food elsewhere.

Other than that, no real complaints. Again, for the $120 I paid for myself and my friend, it was fine. Definitely would stay there again if I was in the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ldominici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    106
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
111
104
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manitou Springs CO
Level Contributor
205 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This is a new hotel. The hotel was clean and the beds were very comfortable. The fan was constant so you didn't hear the road noise. The staff was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay and birding around the Island. We had an ocean view room which was very nice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bikeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

My wife and I spent 3 nights here just visiting the area and we had a great time. The hotel was all that was advertised. We had a king with balcony room which gave us plenty of space. The pool area was very nice, which also included a bar. The ice machine on our floor did not work and within minutes of mentioning this they had it fixed. As far as location, it's a little ways from the downtown action, which is where we spent much of our time. Also thumbs up to the Spot, Mosquito Cafe and Fishermans Wharf.
We rode the segways as well...it was a blast.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimeToTravel097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Hotel is well located,nice clean rooms,Though they are little small for my liking,but overall an excellent property to stay,good pool and the reception person was nice enough to give us an extended checkout.Would definitely recommend this to everyone.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Budgettravel56003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
Reviewed April 14, 2014

The property is pretty nice overall and the location is good. We were there over Spring Break (week of March 10, 2014) for an event and the hotel management just wasn't prepared for the traffic, surprising considering it's located in Galveston. By Friday and Saturday, they had run out of bottled water and most beverages at the cafe. Also, service in the cafe in the mornings for even a cup of coffee was extremely slow. I felt bad for the staff. The management of the hotel put them in a very bad position. Hopefully they will prepare better next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I apologize for the inconvenience of having to endure slow service. I know this experience made your stay with us less enjoyable. Recently, we have undergone a management change and as we are currently in our busy season, we are working diligently to ensure that our service is top-notch and prepared to be busy. We hope that you will return to our property to witness the changes we have made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The hotel staff was very friendly, hotel is still new so it is very nice, like the fact that it is out a little from all the other hotels makes it more relaxing because it is quieter, would recommend this as a place to stay

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rhbaker0295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Hawk, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Great little place to stay with an awesome pool! Friendly and courteous staff! Stayed there over mardi gras and was far enough away from the party to be enjoyable. Will definitely go back when it is warmer to enjoy that lovely pool and cabanas!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jlbeene1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is a Galveston oceanfront hotel that's perfect for weekend getaways and business trips. Our hotel in Galveston, Texas offers the ideal combination of thoughtful amenities and conveniences, and we make it easy for you to enjoy all kinds of journeys and vacations in Galveston. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is near top attractions like the warm and sandy Jamaica Beach. We are close to Pleasure Pier and Galveston Island State Park. And, guests love our proximity to many things to do and see on the Galveston Seawall. While at our hotel, you will be able to relax and luxuriate in our cozy guest rooms that feature plush bedding an pillow-top mattresses. Our hotel can be your home-away-from-home as you explore Galveston, and should you want to spend downtime with us on our property, we welcome you to dine in our restaurant - The Bistro. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is also an ideal location to hold business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing