We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from it all”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Green Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
225 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Away from it all”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Newer hotel at the end of the strand, away from restaurants and shops. On site bistro limited meal service, so will have to go back towards the center of the seawall area to find same.

Good sized room, interesting configuration, made great use of nooks and crannies for storage. "Coffee" table came in handy for eating breakfast items we brought from home. Nicely decorated, enjoyed the "ocean view" mural above of the bed, as were in the back of the hotel. Note, one elevator requires use of room key, can be confusing if staff wasn't handy to point this out to us.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Blokzijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason T, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay at Courtyard galveston Island Gulf Front. We're really glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again on your next visit to Galveston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    106
    33
    17
    14
See reviews for
111
104
7
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Copperas Cove, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We have stayed here 2 times now, several months apart, the staff remembered us. Very impressed with this hotel, the pool is nice in summer or winter. Location is nice, it is a little bit away from the pier, but we actually liked that. This will be our to go to place in galveston.... Until we move there that is.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel is very clean and well maintained. It is across the street from the seawall and is close to decent restaurants and shopping. The staff was great and the price is very reasonable for this area. They have a coffee bar that also has a limited menu for all meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 1TEXAS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

I am writing this review in this building actually.
For the second day of the thanksgiving break, I chose this hotel for a decent price and a new building. At first my family was all satisfied by the great view from the room (4th floor 2Q suite).
But around 10:30 pm, there was a phone ring. I didn't notice the call sound, and about 2 minutes later some guy came up (he said he is 'security') and told me that people downstairs had complained about the 'stomping' noise.
Although we have kids but we are all tired after hitting the festival of lights all evening. No running or anything. But this building was made so flimsily and even just walking around seems to make enough noise to downstairs. What are we supposed to be doing? Just lying on the bed and not moving?
It was really offensive to have a guest at 10:30 pm and to make it worse that arrogant security guy was so condescending and told me to be quiet.
I am a silver elite member of marriott and have been staying in a bunch of hotels of marriott but have never been treated like this.
If you have kids, don't come in this hotel. If you want a deep, sound sleep, don't come to this hotel. If you don't want to come across arrogant staff who tries to teach you in the middle of the night, don't come to this hotel.

Room Tip: I usually check the year of construction, but that seems to have an exception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Mike_hmj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel has many state of the art amenities. It is colorful, clean, comfortable, and very inviting. It has a nice bar/restaurant which is very convenient and economical. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely--especially since they're new.
It was too cold to use the swimming pool but it is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 266Maggie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple, Texas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very nice and new Courtyard. Staff was friendly and made you feel welcome. Room had King Bed with balcony and Gulf view and I was very satisfied. The balcony was a nice size and had two Adirondack chairs and small table. Room was clean (housekeeping did a great job on our room), nicely furnished and decorated. They have a large heated pool with a water fall, changing rooms, and pool bar. There is also a fire pit just outside the pool fence, very nice on cool evenings. My favorite, Starbucks coffee available 24 hours. Nice exercise room and well equipped. Overall the place was very well kept, my only criticism would be that the area inside/outside the MAIN entry needs more attention...sweeping, mopping and dusting. First impressions are lasting impressions.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank LuvToTvl2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Newest kid on the block, fantastic pool & firepit. great rooms, beds were very comfortable, great views (and sounds) of the waves rolling in from the gulf. happy friendly staff. Free shuttle service to cruise terminal and/or the steand. Starbucks in the lobby, yummy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donk806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
2.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Beachfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island

Property: Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is a Galveston oceanfront hotel that's perfect for weekend getaways and business trips. Our hotel in Galveston, Texas offers the ideal combination of thoughtful amenities and conveniences, and we make it easy for you to enjoy all kinds of journeys and vacations in Galveston. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is near top attractions like the warm and sandy Jamaica Beach. We are close to Pleasure Pier and Galveston Island State Park. And, guests love our proximity to many things to do and see on the Galveston Seawall. While at our hotel, you will be able to relax and luxuriate in our cozy guest rooms that feature plush bedding an pillow-top mattresses. Our hotel can be your home-away-from-home as you explore Galveston, and should you want to spend downtime with us on our property, we welcome you to dine in our restaurant - The Bistro. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is also an ideal location to hold business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing