We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New and lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This hotel has many state of the art amenities. It is colorful, clean, comfortable, and very inviting. It has a nice bar/restaurant which is very convenient and economical. The staff are friendly and helpful. The rooms are lovely--especially since they're new.
It was too cold to use the swimming pool but it is gorgeous!!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 266Maggie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (305)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 306 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2013

Very nice and new Courtyard. Staff was friendly and made you feel welcome. Room had King Bed with balcony and Gulf view and I was very satisfied. The balcony was a nice size and had two Adirondack chairs and small table. Room was clean (housekeeping did a great job on our room), nicely furnished and decorated. They have a large heated pool with a water fall, changing rooms, and pool bar. There is also a fire pit just outside the pool fence, very nice on cool evenings. My favorite, Starbucks coffee available 24 hours. Nice exercise room and well equipped. Overall the place was very well kept, my only criticism would be that the area inside/outside the MAIN entry needs more attention...sweeping, mopping and dusting. First impressions are lasting impressions.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank LuvToTvl2578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Newest kid on the block, fantastic pool & firepit. great rooms, beds were very comfortable, great views (and sounds) of the waves rolling in from the gulf. happy friendly staff. Free shuttle service to cruise terminal and/or the steand. Starbucks in the lobby, yummy.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donk806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed there on Nov. 11 to celebrate his birthday (Nov 11) and our 25th anniversary (Nov.12)
The pros: It was so quiet around us, if it hadn't been for the cars in the parking lot we never would have known other people were in the hotel. There is a Starbuck's on site which was nice. The room was very nice and I like how the bed faced the window. Everything was clean and nice.
Here are the CONS:
I was disappointed in the room chosen for us, as I had explained it was our 25th anniversary and I wanted a very nice room. The room given to us was on the 2nd floor but it had no balcony. It did have a beautiful view of the ROOF line! I asked for an ocean view but only saw a partial view of the ocean. We were going to stay another night but my husband was so mad, we checked out early. He is 6'7" tall and the bed was high enough off the ground. Also, his feet did not hang off the end of the bed either. The shower head in the shower was high on the wall too. He hates showers with low shower heads. The bed was not to our liking though. We like a pillow top mattress and this bed was very firm. If you like firm beds, this one is great for you! Also, be sure to stop by a store and bring your own drinks! A 20 oz. soda sold from the front desk cost $2.80! OUCH!( That was ridiculous! ) A great place to eat is Miller's Landing. The food is really good and they have all sorts of fare.. burgers, seafood, steak, home- cooked meals.

Room Tip: avoid room 224, No balcony!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank artluvr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed here on business--wish i'd had more time to enjoy it!

The hotel--
Lobby: gorgeous, very well decorated with nice ambiance. there's a bar at the entrance and some booths as well as a lounge area where you can see the pool.
General decor: modern, colorful, and probably recently re-done. tasteful and looks upscale.
Bathrooms: nice and clean, reasonably spaced, well lit
Beds: standard, pillows are a little too soft
Temp control: wall unit
Amenities: paul mitchell shampoo/conditioner, lots of chargers by the bed, coffeemaker, full length mirror

EXTRA STUFF--
The pool outside is really great. It's got lots of lounge chairs, mini waterfall, colored lights at night... It's shared with the Towneplace behind the Courtyard so it's located in between the two and you can't see the beach from the pool.

The hotel is just across the street from the beach so you can go out for a stroll/run. However, the location is farther away from the restaurants and bars than other hotels on Seawall Blvd (it's other end of Galveston Island) but it's quiet and they're all still accessible with a 10-15 minutes drive.

Room Tip: You can get an ocean view room at this hotel! :)
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luiabooya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Clean and nearly new!
Reasonable prices.
Gorgeous pool. Try a seaward facing room.
Dining room only works in an evening over the weekends.
Only niggle is that internet was intermittent in my room(308).
Other than that PERFECT!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank bartonsmpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days last week and enjoyed everything about the stay. This is a new hotel right on Seawall Blvd. Upon check in we knew this would be good. The staff is excellent and so frendly and helpful. We had a room facing the gulf with a balcony ...beautiful view. The pool area is like that at a small resort - heated. There is plenty of parking, some under the hotel. The only negative is that it's on the far end of the blvd but that's also a plus as you are removed from some of the busyness.

Room Tip: Do what you can to get a room with balcony facing the gulf
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites by Marriott Galveston Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
5.6 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Galveston Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island

Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range: $100 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is a Galveston oceanfront hotel that's perfect for weekend getaways and business trips. Our hotel in Galveston, Texas offers the ideal combination of thoughtful amenities and conveniences, and we make it easy for you to enjoy all kinds of journeys and vacations in Galveston. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is near top attractions like the warm and sandy Jamaica Beach. We are close to Pleasure Pier and Galveston Island State Park. And, guests love our proximity to many things to do and see on the Galveston Seawall. While at our hotel, you will be able to relax and luxuriate in our cozy guest rooms that feature plush bedding an pillow-top mattresses. Our hotel can be your home-away-from-home as you explore Galveston, and should you want to spend downtime with us on our property, we welcome you to dine in our restaurant - The Bistro. Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island is also an ideal location to hold business meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing