We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Brand new hotel, great facilities, great get away!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Galveston Island

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Galveston Island
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Brand new hotel, great facilities, great get away!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is in a good location for families, moody gardens, go karts, mini golf etc right by the hotel, there is no beach with sand across the street so you have to drive a while which isn't really a problem, you can park right on the beach for free about a mile or two south. Now for the not so good, we arrived and I was hoping to get an upgrade to a suite which I was told I would get, when I got there the front desk ladies, although nice, really should not have been left alone, they really didn't know what they were doing and we got stuck in a tiny room for a family of 4, it worked, but I feel our stay could have been much better had the front desk been more knowledgable, when we finally got to the room (Waited an hour for the ladies to figure out how to put me in a different room) there was urine on the seat, a candy wrapper on the desk and the desk hadnt been cleaned in a while. We called and they promptly took care of it. Now for the good, the staff were on top of all requests, and treated everyone I saw very well, from the pool bar waitress to the front desk to the cleaning staff, they were all very nice and accommodating, the pool is great, and having a pool bar/restaurant was great, we would probably stay here again. We stayed in a king ocean view, the kids (6 and 2) fit fine in the sleeper sofa, we stayed on the first floor but the elevators seemed slow. This place is getting better and I would stay here again for a great rate!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    94
    27
    14
    12
See reviews for
86
90
6
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Great clean hotel, seemed very new. Cool pool area, grotto and underwater lights. When I stayed here were lots of kids in the pool, it would be nice to have some adult hours for the pool so adult guests could relax without kids jumping and splashing around. Very chic room with bold colors on the wall, I liked it. I would definitely stay again

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Spondee101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

I 100% recommend this hotel to anyone staying at Galveston. We absolutely loved staying here and barely left during it two night stay. It is located right across from the beach and a short walk to dining, a movie theater, and recreation (go carts & mini golf). Rooms are comfortable and clean. The restaurant serves good food at a very reasonable cost considering its a hotel. The pool is amazing!!! My kids enjoyed it so much they never wanted to get out. The fitness room is large and fairly well equipped but lacks music. It's extremely quiet with no speakers that I could hear. The front desk offers complimentary detergent and softener sheets for the laundry facilities ($1.25 for wash and dry - each). The only thing I can think to improve upon is to add more than one washer and dryer. They were always being used and I can't imagine what it'd be like when the hotel is full. Aside from that, this hotel is modern, clean, and convenient. We will definitely stay here if we ever return to Galveston.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bdga2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I selected this hotel because it was newly opened. We stayed in one of the ocean view king suites. The balcony was nice with a great view of the ocean. The fitness equipment has individual televisions with ear buds. The ear buds are cleaned after each usage but I cleaned mine before using them just to be certain they were sanitized. The pool area is lovely. I ordered room service once and the food was actually better than I expected. There were only two incidences that kept me from giving this hotel five stars. When we first arrived and went onto the balcony there was a disposable cup filled with cigarette butts from the previous guest beside one of the chairs. I called the front desk for someone to come remove it and they sent someone up within minutes. It could have simply been missed by housekeeping but I hope management will be sure to remind housekeeping to be more thorough. The second day of our stay I waited all day for the room to be serviced. Finally at 3 o'clock in the afternoon I called the front desk to say if I could just have some clean towels, I wouldn't mind making the bed myself. I waited for almost an hour and no one brought towels. I looked down the hallway, saw housekeeping, ask her for towels, and called to let the front desk know that I had gotten them myself in case they were still trying to locate someone to bring them to the room. At 5 o'clock housekeeping knocked on the door to service the room. I just told them to empty the trash, take the dirty linens, and leave a couple extra washcloths. Those incidences were disappointing particularly given the price of the room. Because this hotel is new, I am sure employment of housekeepers may have to be tweaked a little before they settle in on really good ones.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieRHT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is amazing. I believe it is fairly new, and it really shows. Everything is very clean, and the staff members are incredibly nice and helpful. The rooms are very nice with the most comfortable beds. The pool area is wonderful...very kid friendly too. There is an outside bar/cafe with poolside service available. There is also a fire pit/lounge area that was great for nighttime visits. There is not a beach right across the street, it is about 1 mile down the road. The beach area is not the same since the storm, but the pool at this hotel was too nice...we didn't leave. There is also a parking garage around the back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyandBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I really want to thank the staff at this facility. Paula Blackwell you have gone above & beyond to help me purchase the pillows that I wanted, which are remarkable!!!!! Thank you so much. This is my #1 place to stay in Galveston. The place is beautiful, clean, & they have the BEST STAFF working there. WE LOVE THIS PLACE & WILL ONLY STAY HERE FOR ALL FUTURE VISITS. Your very happy guest, Debbie from Dallas, Tx

Room Tip: corner suites are spacious & great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hawaiigirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is a brand new hotel in Galveston, near public beach. Common areas are beautiful, pool area is good. I think is kind of a expensive hotel buy maybe booking in advance you will be able to get a better price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hernan_S_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Galveston-On The Beach
5.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Club Vacations Galveston Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
TownePlace Suites Galveston Island
2.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Beachfront
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Galveston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Galveston Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Galveston Island

Property: Courtyard Galveston Island
Address: 9550 Seawall Blvd, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77554-9772 (Formerly Courtyard Galveston Island Gulf Front)
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 52 Hotels in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Galveston Island 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Courtyard Galveston Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing