We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Been Disappointed ”
Review of The Spot

The Spot
Ranked #32 of 343 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: In 1998, there lay a vacant lot with three vacant houses. The land was prime, yet undeveloped, and the houses were set to be demolished. Our founders set out to save the houses — picking them up, bringing them here, and building a restaurant from them. After many months of hard work, their dreams became a reality and The Spot was born. Over the past two decades, we've been on a mission to deliver “Beachfront Day and Night Done Right.” Whether it’s their first time on Galveston Island or they’re seasoned locals, our guests come for our mouthwatering burgers, locally sourced seafood, and homemade desserts. In fact, nearly everything we serve is made in house every day. From hand-dipped onion rings to gulf shrimp breaded to order, we take flavor seriously. Plus our fun, family atmosphere and commitment to fast, friendly service keeps guests coming back. Five Venues. One Spot. All Beachfront. Discover Island Famous.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Raw Oyster to start, split the monthly special with onion rings and fried pickles for both of us.
The updating they have completed was truly needed and has accomplished what needed to be. Food continues to be quality and impressive.
Just a great place to relax and enjoy food and the island.

Retired Chef Gene

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Gene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Owner at The Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

We're glad you loved our updates, Gene, as well as your meal! Whenever you want to relax with us again, we would be more than happy to welcome you back.

Until then,
Dennis B., Head Busboy/ Burger Flipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,574)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 2,575 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2019 via mobile

Stopped here with4 other couples the night before our cruise set sail. Ate outside at their “Sideyard”, which was very enjoyable for the view of the gulf and the nice breeze. The food was exceptional. Had oysters on the half shell for our appetizer, & the Seafood Platter which had battered dipped fish, Pan fried cornmeal crusted fish fillet, fried calamari rings, coconut shrimp, bacon wrapped shrimp and a couple fried shrimp. Waffle potatoes, Cole slaw and dipping sauces. Hubby & I shared the platter and still couldn’t finish all the food. The food was exceptional, service good, great atmosphere. Music was so loud conversation was difficult. We’d definitely go back

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 386maryannec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Owner at The Spot, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Nothing better than sharing a great night with a few friends, Maryanne! Thank you for visiting the Sideyard for a good time, and whenever you want to come back for another seafood platter we would be more than happy to welcome you all back.

Until then,
Dennis B., Head Busboy/ Burger Flipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2019

We went to this place to watch football and had a truly a fantastic time. The service was wonderful and the food was delicious. We stayed for several hours so we got to taste most of their bar food plus some. No complains. One word of advise when you order their nachos try a small bite of their jalapenos first before you scoop a full slice, they can blow your head off.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank evelyn s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Owner at The Spot, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2019

Sorry if our jalapenos were a little more than you were expecting, Evelyn, but we're glad to hear you loved it all! There are few things better than a good football game and nachos, and we're glad we could cheer along with you. Hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Dennis B., Head Busboy/ Burger Flipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

The name says it all - First time visitor and I ab Love it - lots of food and drinks variety and I ab Loved the concept - once you park and walk in you find around 4 to 5 different business within kind of the same roof - food amazing - great view and super awesome prices and family friendly ❤️ Definitely will go back !!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MaxielAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Owner at The Spot, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

That's what we love to hear! Thanks so much for stopping by and for supporting what we love to do. We're always absolutely thrilled to share a great meal with you. See you next time!

Warmly,
Dennis B., Head Busboy/ Burger Flipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019 via mobile

Had a good time here. Really good burgers and milk shakes! The menu had a variety of selection to choose from and was inexpensive.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank 666aprild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carolina S, Owner at The Spot, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2019

So happy that you enjoyed a burger and a shake from our place! Come back and see us again at any time.

Best,
Dennis B., Head Busboy/ Burger Flipper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spot also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing