We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Spot

The Spot
Ranked #14 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
AERM
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

The place is pack so need to come early which we did because we learn our lesson last time. The food are great for family including kids and adult. My guest like seafoods so this is the place Just need to make sure the food is cook right due to so many people who come to dine. We are seated overlooking the beach that is why I call it superb. The most import for people who come to Galveston is to watch where you park because just last year 2013 the county put meters specially the seawall.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AERM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    796
    637
    239
    57
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
370 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“Good Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

The Spot is a must on your visit. There are a number of rooms but we enjoy the bar facing the ocean. Good specials on food and drinks for happy hour. Great view watching the waves crash ashore.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KegMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan, OK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Always a "Must" on trip to Galveston”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

When we're in Galveston to catch a cruise, we always have to eat here. The food is very good. The day we were here one of the specials was seafood jambalaya - my son-in-law's favorite dish. He said it was the best he had ever had. It had just about every kind of seafood in it you can think of - shrimp, crab, crawfish, squid, scallops, and lots more. It was loaded - all on top of rice. My husband & daughter got the quesidillas, and said they were very tasty. I got their signature burger, which you can dress w/your favorite toppings. My husband & son-in-law also got their bread pudding which is HUGE and very tasty!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Okiegal59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

The Spot and Rum Bar are a must for Galveston visitors.
Great burgers and hot dogs that you dress yourself at a bar. Salads and daily specials are always good.
The soda shop has the best homemade desserts, ice cream, and milk shakes.
A lively fun place with great food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin362
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yummy!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I went to the Spot during a girls' weekend, and this hit the spot! I got the fried shrimp and waffle fries - it was delicious!! The onion rings were fantastic too. The staff were so sweet and attentive - I think I was called "ma'am" about 100 times. We'll definitely be back if we want a casual, delicious, fried meal!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Spot also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to The Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing