We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Mexican Food Without Going to Mexico!”
Review of Gorditas Mexico

Gorditas Mexico
Ranked #110 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Houston
Level Contributor
53 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food Without Going to Mexico!”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Looking for real Mexican food? Visiting Galveston Island? Try Gorditas Mexico on the Seawall in Galveston, Texas. This ain't no Tex-Mex gringo joint....No this is the real deal, good tasty Mexican street food. From Tortas, Sopa's, Gorditas to excellent grilled meats and seafood this place is the real deal! Just one warning, don't bring your credit card, they only take cash.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BajaDaveHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    35
    13
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Killeen, Texas
Level Contributor
191 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Great Late Nite Mexican”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The only place open after 10pm on the seawall, but we were pleasantly surprised! This is the real deal in Mexican food. Mexican music on the jukebox, limited English is spoken, but the food is authentic and delicious. Tacos, enchiladas, tamales, guacamole, empanadas, and cerveza frio - mi gusto! Cash only, but they take dollars.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TXEyeGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
“DIRTY, NO FLAVOR”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

I took my family to Galveston today and we decided to have lunch in this Mexican restaurant, first of all the salsa was tasteless no flavor, I order an appetizer when it came out wasnt the right one no one there care about the place at all, there's no manager or supervisor or nothing you need to pay cash they dont recive cards at all, no visa mastercard, american express dinners nothing !
the service was terrible to the point i needed to walk away in the middle of my lunch because everything was so mix up so bad and dirty, if you look around they dont have any interest in getting better so I assume this is the way the rest of the people belive that's mexican food but is not, so bad.
my suggestion dont go, or waste your money or your time go somewhere else

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great price, will definately go again .”
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Wow, delicious Mexican food. Server had trouble understanding english or we had trouble understanding spanish, not sure which (lol). First time to try beef empanadas and fell in love with them.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sherrille1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great authentic mexican restaurant”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We had never eaten here before and decided to try it. It was a small, quaint place and had authentic mexican food. It was very good and had great service. I would definitely go back. Although they do not accept any form of payment but CASH. We had cash, luckily, but they do have an ATM machine in the restaurant in case you need to get cash. It was a clean restaurant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorditas Mexico also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gorditas Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing