We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great tasting BBQ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
Ranked #55 of 305 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
St. Louis
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great tasting BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Had a large group of hungry teens. Great food and awesome service. Leon and his family made our group feel like special guests.

They had our table ready when we arrived. Fast service, large servings and awesome BBQ.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ZuziSt_Louis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    42
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
AUSTIN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“I'm Hungry Just Thinking About It!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I think Leon's is the best BBQ on the island! Dang it's good. I've had the ribs and brisket and both were excellent. The portions are large enough that you might take some home with you. The brisket has a nice salt and pepper bark and the sauce has a nice little kick to it. No complaints from me.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HungryJohnAustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Take home pickup on a Saturday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We had brisket, sausage and chicken. Everyone was happy with food. We went to store for pickup. Nice simple easy to sit in but very small place. Old store style. Not very pick up organized. They forgot potatoes and corn bread. We caught the potatoes were missing but had to go without cornbread. They called but we did not want them to bring it to us because we were out of town about 12 miles. Check order before driving off. They could have help get our order to car. Woman was more solicitous. Men seemed tired.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoePitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Leon was disrespectful & I will NEVER return, especially to spend another $100.00+ on his so-so food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Half of the ribs were dry (they were the old ones), the others were ok, with not much seasoning, the brisket was also half fresh & half dry. The staff in the front were very pleasant but one person in the kitchen AND Mr. Leon were very rude & disrespectful. I'll NEVER spend $100.00+ nor will I spend $.50 (that's 50 cents)@ Leon's World's Finest Barbeque again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank sanfraz3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not good.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I read all the reviews so we decided to go there. The ribs were ok, not great but ok. The brisket was very, very salty and tough. A small side is miniscule. It did not live up to its reviews at all. I won't return. I had such high hopes and they were crushed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing