We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Wow, a hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
Ranked #55 of 305 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wow, a hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Wanted a true BBQ experience (don't have it where we live). The place didn't look like much from outside but we were welcomed inside and the food exceeded expectation. Low on the ambience but high on the quality.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    42
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great meat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Read about Leon's on tripadvisor and had to visit.
As folks have said before, the restaurant is very basic but the food isn't!

A very friendly waitress help us order as I was with my wife and 2 kids so wasn't sure how much to order.

We ordered 3 meats (which I can't believe can be for one person!) and 1 meat.
Therefore we had brisket, ribs, chicken and sausage. Sides of coleslaw, spicy rice, potato salad (my favourite).

The meats were stunning, full of flavour.

All was eaten!

Total bill inc tip $35....great value.

Loads of people were in for takeouts.

As everyone has said,if you eat in, don't expect The Ritz and you'll love the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Cashbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgway, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped in here for some dinner, only to find them closed. Leon saw us outside, reopened the restaurant and served my family of five a delicious dinner. The staff was very friendly, even though we were keeping them from home. We will try this place again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super food and people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Leon's place is the spot for great BBQ served by good folks. This is not a fancy restaurant. You'll sit in a small dining room in close proximity to the heating and A/C units. If you are interested in fantastic BBQ, this is a great choice. We celebrated our son's 18th B-day at Leon's. He really enjoyed the food and they even treated him with rum cake for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT Miss!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Do not miss this place!! If your looking for a fancy place with white tableclothes, look elsewhere, if you want the best dang BBQ you've ever ate this is for you!! We ate the 3 meat platter. We chose ribs, brisket, and chicken. The ribs were to die for!! The brisket was fantastic!! Everything was so good including the sides. We was eating our meal and discussing how wonderful it was and Leon came out and checked on us and the other customers!! He was so nice!! Wow, DON'T miss out!!! Tripadvisor rates it #3 best restuarant in a seafood town, that should tell you something!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing