We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Super food and people!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leon's World's Finest Barbeque

Leon's World's Finest Barbeque
Ranked #59 of 305 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super food and people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Leon's place is the spot for great BBQ served by good folks. This is not a fancy restaurant. You'll sit in a small dining room in close proximity to the heating and A/C units. If you are interested in fantastic BBQ, this is a great choice. We celebrated our son's 18th B-day at Leon's. He really enjoyed the food and they even treated him with rum cake for dessert!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BradVK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    44
    11
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Do NOT Miss!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Do not miss this place!! If your looking for a fancy place with white tableclothes, look elsewhere, if you want the best dang BBQ you've ever ate this is for you!! We ate the 3 meat platter. We chose ribs, brisket, and chicken. The ribs were to die for!! The brisket was fantastic!! Everything was so good including the sides. We was eating our meal and discussing how wonderful it was and Leon came out and checked on us and the other customers!! He was so nice!! Wow, DON'T miss out!!! Tripadvisor rates it #3 best restuarant in a seafood town, that should tell you something!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesDarrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“It's Risky To Eat Here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you've eaten bar-b-que most anywhere else in Texas, not the plastic tasting places like Goode Company in Houston, Texas, it's risky to eat here. Anyone who is a bar-b-que connoisseur could only walk away hating this place because it's so damn good and the portions ample, and impossible or almost impossible to duplicate. Not to mention a great value. There are a lot of reviews on Leon's, none of them lousy but so many good ones you'd think it could be a conspiracy to praise it so much. But damn it...the reviews are on target. They cook their meat on a wood-burning pit out back. The sause is a secret and delicious. The service is first rate for a small bar-b-que joint. And they'll even deliver to your room in a Galveston hotel. It's no wonder Leon, a/kj/a Dr. Bar-B-Que drives a big white Cadillac with a magnetic sign advertising his restaurant on it. Problem is places like this really never survive their creators and once Leon's gone.....well that'll be curtains. Galveston has a few very good places to eat seafood like Shrimp and Stuff but only one place in the entire region to eat bar-b-que prepared this way. Swear to ***.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Academyaward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really good barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

In Galveston, the place to go for barbecue is Leon's. Leon's is located in the vicinity of the cruise port. We tried the barbecue beef and chicken and found them to be delicious. The barbecue sauce is outstanding. The prices are reasonable and service is good an unpretentious.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almira, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“More than meets the eye”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

O MY WORD! This little place would be easy to drive past and not notice! I am SO glad we stopped! It is the BESt meat, BEST sauce I've had! The service is friendly, and it has a homey atmosphere. you MUSt stop and try, look closely, its easy to miss from the road. But you'll be glad you came!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ReenieR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leon's World's Finest Barbeque also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Leon's World's Finest Barbeque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing