We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little Italian Place”

Gino's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #102 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pflugerville, Texas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice little Italian Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This is a great place. The traffic can be a pain getting into the parking lot and out as it is on one of the main roads to Moody Gardens. The food was good and a nice selection of Italian food. They take orders to go as well as dining in. We have not tried the pizza but they smelled and looked great.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank confqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    25
    17
    5
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Good food takes time. Service was wonderful. It's in an old Taco Bell building... Don't let that fool ya!! Authentic Italian food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wtxnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Marque, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Long, long, wait time.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

While Gino's offers good Italian food, waiting 20 minutes for drinks is not something this restaurant should allow. The front desk woman took our drink order, but it was a male server who eventually gave us our drinks after what seemed like forever. I ordered the Shrimp Scampi al Promodoro, something I have never had before, and it was - interesting at best. Probably wouldn't order it again. Besides that, it was extremely crowded. A typical Italian restaurant that doesn't have anything special about it that puts it above the rest.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S51438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great carry out pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

So, this spot was recommended to us based on great pizza and a smoking deal on your second pizza. Well, inexplicably, they would only give us the second pizza discount on a take out order. So we ordered a couple of pies to go and picked up some drinks on the way back to our hotel.
The pizza was VERY good, but I still don't understand why they didn't want to sell us drinks and salads and get a tip...
Fortunately, they make better pizza than business decisions. :-)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ChadoKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food value and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Sausage sandwich (sub) and antepasto were two meals.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Gino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing