We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Original and Local = Authentic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Original Mexican Cafe

Original Mexican Cafe
Ranked #38 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Original and Local = Authentic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Enough of the Seawall & Harbor chain restaurants (Landry-ville!). We wanted to eat where the locals eat--and have eaten for years. The 4 of us arrived for dinner 30 minutes before closing time on a Tuesday night, and were warmly greeted. The restaurant is a bit dated & funky, but that's what you want in a local hangout. The menu is extensive & the food was good, hearty basic Tex-Mex, and lots of it for the money. We weren't rushed and had a great time talking & eating--no loud music or noisy crowd to contend with. The Original is off the beaten path, but the location felt safe (near the medical district). Nice experience--we'll return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    159
    74
    27
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interior needs some work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food was wonderful (hadn't been here in many years), but the carpet was very worn - needs to be replaced! The server was very attentive and the prices are reasonable!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Grilled Tallipia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been eating here for several years & I had the grilled tilapia tacos for the first time the other night & it was excellent!! It was not dried out but moist & deliciously seasoned served on a soft tortilla with purple cabbage. Several weeks ago I had the beef & chicken fajitas which were dried out--I was so disappointed!! Standard Mexican fare is very good. The salsa & chips are excellent. Service is very good, courteous & efficient. Price is very reasonable. Prepare for a wait esp on Sat evenings during the summer

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Original Mexican Cafe - Ole!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Whenever I go to Galveston, I have to get my Tex-Mex fix...at The Original! I always get the same thing: One Cheese Enchilada, one crispy beef taco, rice & beans. I call it the "Mary Special"!

It's sooooo good! The chili con carne on the enchilada and the gooey cheese...so yummy!

Ole!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcoop1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Reliably good Tex Mex!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Another visit over the 4th of July weekend to one of our historic Galveston favorites. Original Mexican café was the same as always - good, fast, friendly service and a fabulous praline to top it all off! They even serve a decent glass of wine, unlike many other local restaurants. There is a reason this place has been in business for so long.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cowboymomhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Original Mexican Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Original Mexican Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing