We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seriously good gumbo!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #15 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Seriously good gumbo!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

Yum! I can't pretend to be a gumbo connoisseur by any means but I had a hard time putting my spoon down! The portions are generous. I was not able to finish my large portion with rice. So if you don't have a large appetite opt for the smaller bowl. We had some BBQ oysters and Okra as an appetizer, both were delicious.

We were there on a Saturday night so the place was really busy. While we waited for our table we enjoyed beers on the sidewalk that they were selling outside for 3$. Pretty sweet!

Lastly, our server was pleasant and attentive and answered honestly when we asked her if the desserts were made in house (she answered no.) We are a bit a particular about our desserts so we typically only order desserts that are made in house so we appreciated that she was honest with us.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jnp9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    155
    60
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Mixed Marriage”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Good thing my spouse and I have a mixed marriage -- of tastes. He likes gumbo thick and I'm okay with it on the thin side. If you are fine with a dark roux that's a little on the thin side, and has great flavor, you will enjoy Little Daddy's. Fortunately, they will let you put almost anything in the gumbo you want -- sausage, chicken, prime rib, crab, shrimp, crab, oyster. Their po' boys are also good and available with almost anything in there. Very popular place and it was fun to eat at the counter. I loved it, but hubby thought it was only so-so.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DilleauxL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Loved this place...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

... Despite the noise! Interesting place and an awesome concept! Had fried shrimp which were fabulous! Lots of people having gumbo and heard no complaints!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fun authentic and hip spot for Gumbo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

Had an excellent seafood gumbo, the plates are so big my husband and I shared a small and had some kind of crab bowls that were amazing. Service was good and I enjoyed the hip, yet authentic design of the place. We sat at the bar in front of this cool looking pots.
Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ceci_Trovels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Gumbo Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We are from Chicago and were in town over the weekend looking for some fresh seafood. Found the Gumbo Bar and had a awesome meal. My husband had a Shrimp Po'Boy which he said was outstanding and every bit as good as New Orleans. We both had Gumbo, he had the seafood I had the Chicken Sausage. I am a gumbo freak always looking for the best and this was certainly some of that. I might have moaned a few times while eating. But be warned the Big Daddy size is huge. Also had the garlic bread which was delicious. Beer selection was very good. Staff was attentive and prompt. Wish we had one of these places in Chicago I would be there all the time.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank karinab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing