We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great gumbo”

Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar
Ranked #16 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great gumbo”
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

We love this place. it was our first stop in galveston, arriving late from a northern city that had snow!
The gumbo was great, wine well priced and service great.
A little disappointed in the steamed shrimp, it was a little bland. As compared to our last visit but then we were very late at night.
Great value and very very good food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaybrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    156
    61
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
105 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Really don't miss this.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

we started with grilled oyster dozen which were not overcooked and had a lovely crust of parmesan and bread crumbs--broiled really not grilled. Excellent wine by the glass $4.00 at 5 pm. I had the small seafood gumbo and took 1/2 of it home. hubby had the sausage, chicken gumbo--I didn't think it was as good as mine. The "crispy garlic bread" wasn't crispy it wasn't worth eating. But overall it was a good experience and I'm glad we went. We were considering going to the BlacK Oyster and might try that tonight.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joette1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomball, Texas
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Yummy! Cajun Approved!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

My (Cajun) husband and I ate lunch here recently, and it was such a great choice! I based it off of Trip Advisor reviews, and we certainly weren't steered wrong.

The place is tiny and tight inside, so be prepared to sit close to the people eating beside you, with the exception of a few round tables in the front, and several towards the back kitchen area. We chose to sit at the bar, and really the only negative that I can mention, is that it took awhile for anyone to recognize us and take our drink orders. Once our waitress took over, service was good.

Now for the food! The menu is not large, and is obviously seafood based, but the items consist of the tried and true, and unusual items (to me, anyway). The portions are very generous, so keep that in mind when ordering.

We started with their chilled shrimp with cocktail sauce. We ordered ten, and the shrimp were large, perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. For our entrees, my husband got the mixed seafood gumbo, and I ordered the BBQ shrimp. I was expecting grilled shrimp, with BBQ sauce, and what I got was more of a shrimp stew, with a slight hint of BBQ sauce in the stew/roux. Be forewarned that the shrimp still have their tails, and the heads are also in the stew. My mistake for not understanding, or asking questions about the dish beforehand.

Both portions were large, and mine came with bread, which was very good dipped in the stew. My husband ordered garlic bread on the side. Had I known that the shrimp in my dish still had their parts, I probably would have chosen something else, simply because it's messy and clumsy to eat. My mother-in-law cooks this way, so I know it's normal, but it's not my favorite. My husband on the other hand, absolutely LOVED his gumbo, and he knows his gumbo. Mine tasted fantastic, but was a little more difficult to eat.

All in all, it was really good and we look forward to a return visit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OctoberLuver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“so good!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Start with the char-grilled oysters!! They are to die for!! The seafood gumbo is also amazing!!! Great service and great food!!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarabear0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waller, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Welll, we came back and I can finally give it 5 stars”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

My first review of this place was 3 stars. I was not a fan of their gumbo, so we decided to try something else. This time, we started off with a dozen oysters on the half shell. Wow. They were fresh, tasty and just simply wonderful. Horseradish was perfect! We were going to the theater that evening, so we wanted something fairly quick. My partner had the iceburg wedge with lump crab. Amazing is all I can say. It was full of buttery, yummy deliciousness. I had the Big Easy BBQ shrimp. Where have you been all my life? Full of head on shrimp as big as my hand! The sauce it was served in, well, I know you are "supposed" to dip your bread in it, but I was pretty much just eating with my spoon. It was absolutely wonderful. Will so go back...again and again and again. Not sure if I will do the gumbo again, but I so will try just about everything else on the menu.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Little Daddy's Gumbo Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing