We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza we've ever had!”
Review of Mario's Ristorante

Mario's Ristorante
Ranked #48 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: It all started back in 1967 when Sicilian born Giovanni Smecca decided to move to Galveston, Texas from Patterson, New Jersey after hearing Glen Campbell’s famous “Galveston” during a card game. Giovanni always dreamed of being a professional fisherman, so he decided to give it a shot and made the drive to Galveston. After battles of sea sickness, Giovanni quickly decided that the fish business wasn’t for him.Heartbroken, Giovanni was about to move back to New Jersey when he met Mario Bonaccorso who was trying to open a pizzeria. The two became great friends, and together, these two young Italian entrepreneurs started Mario’s Flying Pizza and brought the “pizza pie” to Galveston Island.Today, we are still family owned and operated and are considered a delightful, neighborhood restaurant with a friendly, relaxed atmosphere. We serve a wide variety of Italian cuisine and New York style pizza and strive to use fresh, seasonal, ingredients wherever possible, so come on in, sit back, relax, and enjoy a wonderful meal and a nice glass of wine at Mario’s Ristorante!
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best pizza we've ever had!”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Wow! Unexpected authentic, amazing Italian pizza in Galveston! Yum! Wish we had this back home! We almost went twice in our short three day stay!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank brookeyrollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSmecca, Owner at Mario's Ristorante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks!! We love to hear that we are doing things right and always appreciate someone taking the time out of their busy day to let others know as well! Have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    114
    43
    19
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food, not great food.”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is just off the main road, well lit with ample parking. Inside the decor typical Italian. Well lit inside. Pizza ovens to the left, and bar ahead. We ordered several dishes and an appetizer. The stuffed mushrooms are good, but nothing worth writing home about. The fettuccini alfredo was the best of the entrees. Maybe we should have stuck with the pizza.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSmecca, Owner at Mario's Ristorante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback! Give our pizza a shot the next time, it is what we are known for! We aim to please, so if there is anything wrong or something you are not satisfied with on your next visit let one of our staff know and we will do whatever it takes to make it right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Food was great and a view too!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

After eating at a couple tourist traps where you basically had to wait on yourself, I was ready for a real sit down restaurant. I had the seafood fettuccine and it was very good. My girlfriend had the gnocchi with chicken and it was great. Our waiter Carlos was excellent too. The pizzas looked awesome, we'll try one next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Xmikex98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“To Die For Pizza!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The pizza quality and selection was incredible!!. Three types of crust and I would say 30 types of pizzas on the menu not including ones you can create. The pasta dishes are excellent as well. Its very reasonably priced and the waitstaff is friendly and efficient. Kid friendly too!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank salezmun66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSmecca, Owner at Mario's Ristorante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much!! And thanks for visiting us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fine Food; Friendly Family Restaurant”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Dined at Mario's Ristorante July 19 and enjoyed that meal so much we dined here again July 26; when we were equally impressed. Extensive menu offers traditional Italian favorites plus wide range of Pizzas. The Lasagna is fabulous! And they have Peroni Beer on draft! Prompt friendly service and reasonable prices. Mario's is a large restaurant, so don't hesitate to book a big group. Private Rooms are available for your events. Highly Recommended for Family Dining.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank greenway35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSmecca, Owner at Mario's Ristorante, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review! I love the Lasagna (and Peroni on draft) as well!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Ristorante also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mario's Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing