We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Cajun Girl loves it!”

Benno's on the Beach
Ranked #31 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Looking for fresh local seafood and a casual beachfront atmosphere? Benno's on the Beach has both! Our menu offers a variety of Cajun grilled, golden fried, and hot boiled entrees. Dine in or take out today.
Hondo, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This Cajun Girl loves it!”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I'm originally from South Louisiana, and it's hard to find reasonable seafood that tastes good. We absolutely love Benno's! The red beans and rice are fantastic and the shrimp and shrimp poboys are always excellent. The price is super reasonable and the atmosphere is great!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    205
    88
    34
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Colony, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“LOVE the Stuffed Shrimp”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We visit Benno's each year on an end of summer trip to Galveston. I have been going to Benno's for 20+ years and the stuffed shrimp is the best!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Favorite local seafood spot”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

Local favorite. Order your flood and they deliver it to the table always hot. In season the soft shell crab is terrific. My favorite is the whole cajun grilled flounder .... best on the island but it takes awhile so be patient. There AC really works so the ladies might want a sweater even on the hottest days unless you set outside.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh, Yummy Cajun and Seafood”
Reviewed August 13, 2014 via mobile

I've been to Benno's several times and always loved what I've had. Most recently, I've eaten the gumbo, and crawfish (when it was in season) and it was perfect. Their fish is always fresh and right from the gulf. If you keep an eye out, you can even see it on ice, it's so fresh.

If you're eating inside, bring a jacket!! I always freeze to death unless we eat outside.

You order at the counter and then they bring it out to you, but they still come by to check on you for refills and stuff.

Prices are a little high, but still fair. I think it's because everything is so fresh.

Helpful?
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food, hole in the wall kind of place”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We shared the Cajun Seafood Platter. Fried, but spicy, and very good. Got full, was recommended, and glad we went!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank missgrowly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benno's on the Beach also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Benno's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing