We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Crawdads - Friendly Service”

Benno's on the Beach
Ranked #31 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating
Description: Looking for fresh local seafood and a casual beachfront atmosphere? Benno's on the Beach has both! Our menu offers a variety of Cajun grilled, golden fried, and hot boiled entrees. Dine in or take out today.
Jefferson City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious Crawdads - Friendly Service”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Benno's is a simple restaurant - place your order and have a seat. However, the food was absolutely delicious, and as you can tell by the title of this review we loved the cajun style crawdads. Even though you place your order at a counter, don't think you won't be attended to. Our waitress was there with whatever we needed as we sat outside and enjoyed eating our meal by the seashore. If you visit Galveston, I strongly urge you to stop at Benno's and enjoy a great meal - fresh, local, casual, and a unique flavor and quality you won't find in the other restaurants.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank randyetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    213
    93
    34
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wow! Better than the glut of chain restuarants here”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Lunch today was as perfect as the last 35 times ive been there!!! Sometimes the trip from Ft Worth is just to eat at Bennos! I love the food as much as any New Orleans top restuarant! The best seafood in Galveston! No chain of a chain restaurant group here! Just good people.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rasiez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Texas
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“This was a nice surprise!”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We went to Benno's after checking reviews on Tripadvisor. We were looking for someplace casual but the food had to be good. Beeno's was the perfect option and what a wonderful surprise. Very casual, you order at the counter, find a seat and they bring it to you. The waitress was so sweet. I ordered the Cajun Shrimp....WOW......my new favorite food on the island. A dozen very nice sized shrimp grilled in the best spices and served with red potatoes that were boiled in crab boil then sliced and pan fried. Holy Moly!!!!!!! My husband had the oysters and said he has not tasted anything so good since he was a kid. Lightly breaded and fried, delicate and delicious. We arrived at 6 pm and walked right up to the counter and ordered. By 6:15 there was a line almost out the door. Not sure if this is normal but we timed it just right. Take the kids, the parents, the grandparents and have a great time! Great view but if you sit outside the birds can be annoying.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ETexasTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great lunch options for under 10.00 with beach view”
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Ample portions, nice variety of choices, down home local atmosphere, casual, good value on lunch specials, homemade bread pudding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddiessweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Cajunlicious”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Benno's is my favorite spot for gumbo and boudin. Little secret, ask for gumbo no rice then add some of your boudin to the gumbo instead. Much spicier!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Har43484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benno's on the Beach also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Benno's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing