We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crispy and fresh”

Benno's on the Beach
Ranked #29 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Looking for fresh local seafood and a casual beachfront atmosphere? Benno's on the Beach has both! Our menu offers a variety of Cajun grilled, golden fried, and hot boiled entrees. Dine in or take out today.
Rio Vista, Texas
Level Contributor
135 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Crispy and fresh”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

We ate here the day before our cruise enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The outside area was perfect to watch the beach. The wait for food was a little long (30 min) but worth the wait in our opinion.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    199
    82
    33
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
128 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Gotta Try The Boudin!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

It is very spicy...but good! They make their own. Also, lots of seafood. Price is $$ on a scale of $$$$. I recommend this place.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Seafood and Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Benno's has an awesome patio with good seating and a great view for Galveston Island. The food is good, but too much of it is fried or soaked in butter. If you are looking for a healthier option here, the boiled shrimp are excellent, but watch the butter soaked corn. Best thing on the menu, hands down, are the Cajun oysters! I would definitely recommend thus restaurant to anyone visiting the island.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jench2615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Picnic-Style Surroudings on the Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nothing fancy about Benno's. Walk-up ordering, red-checkered table clothes and hot seafood served with French fries and hush puppies. Benno's is right on the beach and has an outdoor seating area for those wanting to feel the salt spray. Looked like a lot of locals dining there - always a good sign.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TXRailroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Don't get the hype but would give it a second chance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

My son and I went to Benno's while on our annual Spring Break vacation. The restaurant was strongly recommended to us by the bar tender at the hotel at which we were staying, but I have to say, I just didn't get the reason for all the hype. The restaurant is rather small inside and if it is the busy season you should expect to have difficulty finding a place to sit. When we arrived, the line was out the door and I would say we waited in line for 25 minutes before we submitted our order at the counter. This is the aspect of the place that perturbed me the most. Because of the restaurant's small size, people standing in line and people sitting at their tables or otherwise trying to move about the restaurant were falling over one another. It just seemed to me that while counter service may have been an efficient way to handle customers at one point in Benno's history, it has long since outgrown that manner of customer service. The food was good but not great. My son ordered the crawfish étouffée, which he said was quite bland. I ordered the crab cakes, and they were good, but the piece of shell I found in my first bite tended to taint the meal. We both had an ear of corn on the cob, but it doesn't take a trained chef to boil an ear of corn. I think it was the service aspect of the restaurant that bothered me the most. I would also say that the food was only average. I will say that the popularity of the place intrigued me enough that if I were to be in Galveston again, I would definitely give it a second try. If that many people think the restaurant is great, there has to be a reason for it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babaker1062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Benno's on the Beach also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Benno's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing