We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best BarBQue”
Review of Queen's Barbecue

Queen's Barbecue
Ranked #61 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best BarBQue”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Casual, your order at the counter and they call your name to put up when ready. They also cater. All the food is great, I love the baked potato with chopped beef. It is only a short block from the beach.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank galvestonangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    52
    16
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Without the BBQ Sauce, The Food Is Bland”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

First the good: The sides are fantastic. The beans & spud salad are great. The smoked sausage was dynamite. My companion had the pork sandwich, the pork was good, but dry - remedied with the supplied BBQ sauce.

The brisket was not so good. I am a fan of Texas BBQ, the stuff that doesn't need any sauce to be good. Their brisket tasted like slightly smoky pot roast.

If you want decent food, Queens will fit the bill. If you want the real stuff, you'll have to go inland.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gt2c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsicana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best BB-Que in Galveston”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stopped in this restaurant at the request of a friend, I had never eaten here but Boy' will I be back! I ordered the chopped beef sandwich which came with a heaping of FF, and my GF ordered the cliff hanger (Turkey sandwich) with onion rings! The food was very hot, service great, I love the rustic decor of restaurant, and last but not least the taste of the BBQue was over the top with a great smoked flavor, very tender. I will be back and no wonder this little hidden gem has been voted Best of the Best in Galveston many years! Can't wait to try the loaded baked potatoes!!!!!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank brent6482003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level Contributor
162 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great local joint with delicious BBQ”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I really enjoyed my experience here. I went with a group of friends and everyone LOVED their food. I ordered the chopped beef brisket sandwich on a hamburger bun and my boyfriend ordered the same with a small portion of a bunch of their sides. Really delicious food and the service was good. We came when it was practically empty so we received our food quickly. For the price, this trip was definitely worth it!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OkieJeannette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Best stuffed potato on the island”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Very Texas BBQ with great fixings. Love the backed potato stuffed with beef BBQ.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Father_Stephen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen's Barbecue also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Queen's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing