We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best out there”

Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Shrimp 'N Stuff Restaurant opened in 1976 and quickly became known as "the place where the locals love to eat." In these past 38 years we have had many guests visiting our fine city from across the U.S. who tell us they wished they had found Shrimp 'N Stuff the first day they arrived and assured us they will be back several times before they leave Galveston.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The best out there”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

This is a little local place on Ave O that you would not find if you were not looking for it. But, it is one of my favorite places on the island because the food is very good and very well priced.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,225 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    587
    392
    155
    49
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingwood, TX
Level Contributor
140 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Still one of my favorites - you get exactly what you expect”
Reviewed August 20, 2014

It's been a while since I have been at this restaurant. The three of us had shrimp - two with the standard fried shrimp and one with a popcorn shrimp platter. Don't buy the popcorn shrimp - too much batter and very little shrimp. Do buy the 5/8/12 piece shrimp platter. The shrimp aren't as big as the old days, but the batter is light and good. The cocktail sauce comes in a big bottle - perfect for me.
Old style place - order at the bar and pickup when ready. They do have a little outside area, and more space in the adjacent building.
I'll keep coming back - I'd like to try the catfish next !

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kgwd000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not so great this time...”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We really loved this restaurant when we tried it last year, but it was not nearly as good this year and we weren't inclined to go back again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank LLAlexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Everything you want as long as its fried”
Reviewed August 15, 2014

We went there the other night and it was pretty packed, the whole place smelled delicious! We checked out the menu, ordered our food, it came out, we ate it, it was great! Almost everything there is fried, but there isnt anything wrong with that! We will be back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Car0leTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fav in Galveston”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

This is my favorite place to eat in Galveston. Love the crab balls and stuffed shrimp. Everything they serve is amazing!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Charlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing