We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Gulf seafood”

Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Shrimp 'N Stuff Restaurant opened in 1976 and quickly became known as "the place where the locals love to eat." In these past 38 years we have had many guests visiting our fine city from across the U.S. who tell us they wished they had found Shrimp 'N Stuff the first day they arrived and assured us they will be back several times before they leave Galveston.
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good Gulf seafood”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This bit-out-of-the-way restaurant serves good, honest Gulf seafood -- nothing fancy, just good food served simply and at a good price. Better than what's in the restaurants on the seawall. Frequented by locals, so it's reliable and consistently good. Covered patio is best. Casual, so don't worry about getting dressed up, Great hushpuppies and crab balls.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davebob123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    601
    399
    161
    50
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
“Simple, Tasty Fried Gulf Seafood”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

A little off the beaten path, this place is a respite from the places on the seawall. Walk-up ordering, indoor and outdoor seating, low key and casual. I had the fried oyster po-boy and it was excellent - the oysters were fat and juicy and the bread fresh. My wife had the chicken tenders and she said that they were good. It seems almost everything they serve is fried, so be prepared for that. Also, they have a food truck that serves the west end of the island at Jamaica Beach - we saw it parked there but didn't eat there. Might be worth checking out of you are staying out there and don't want to drive into town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CaboAndCaicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belton, Texas
Level Contributor
123 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great food, great prices”
Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We went April 29th for dinner. Our dinners were great . Liked the hushpuppy a lot. Very nice outdoor patio with trees and water feature. I don't mind disposable dishes in exchange for value. Comfortable and casual. I would go back next time I am in Galveston.

Helpful?
Thank Siobhan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“this place is close to ball high good food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

use to go here when we had open campus lunch 2 times a week. reasonable prices great food. been there forever if in galveston check this place out.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank G2661244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Horrible!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Do not go here if you want fresh ( fried) shrimp ! It's frozen out of a package like you get at your local grocery store! Reminded me of mrs. Paul's Frozen shrimp!
Horrible and overpriced!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationtimeTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing