We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must not cater to visitors”

Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 328 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Description: Shrimp 'N Stuff Restaurant opened in 1976 and quickly became known as "the place where the locals love to eat." In these past 38 years we have had many guests visiting our fine city from across the U.S. who tell us they wished they had found Shrimp 'N Stuff the first day they arrived and assured us they will be back several times before they leave Galveston.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

.My family and I, which totaled 11, were vacationing in Galveston from Feb 13-17. We were searching for a good seafood restaurant online and came across Shrimp & Stuff. The menu looked good and so did the prices so we decided to try it. Once we entered, it was very obvious that this place must strictly be for locals, as every single person stared at us as we walked in. Not a single person who worked there even acknowledged us. We went to the counter and began to look at the menu and the two young girls behind the counter were quick to begin staring at us and rushing us. While we were deciding on our order, a lady came to get in line behind us. She was only there for maybe 45 seconds, when the girls told her to come on and place her order, then proceded to tell her they were "sorry for her wait". I got very angry and so did my son in law. The girls then began whispering to each other while staring at my son in law. This was very unprofessional so we just decided to leave. These girls had bad attitudes and they lost out on well over a $100 order. Guess they don't care about that. Never in our travels to Galveston have we ever experienced this kind of treatment, and it was not appreciated at all. From what I see from some other reviews, all we missed out on was frozen seafood anyway.

Date of visit: February 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tis36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,282 - 1,286 of 1,525 reviews

Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our group had lunch there today, fried shrimp, fried crab balls n onion rings were all a hit. If ur in the mood for fried seafood, it's hard to beat.

Thank BeachbumAggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We enjoyed the very good food which was also very reasonable in price. Atmosphere very casual. Will eat there again if Galveston. Self serve.

Date of visit: January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank john5136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just realized that somehow I had neglected to ever post of a review of this restaurant even though it is one of our favorites. We have been known to travel all the way to Galveston when visiting Houston, just to go to here. It isn't fancy (counter service, paper boats or foam plates, plastic wear) but it is completely yummy. Our favorite is the fried oysters and we usually have to get more since they seem to mysteriously vanish and we fight over how many each of us has had (me, my husband, and son). Not sure how to explain how good they are but they are hot, crispy and oh so delicious! Also the seafood balls or whatever they call them, are not to be missed. We have eaten here for years when visiting and they've never let us down. The sides have never wowed us, so we really focus on mostly the oysters and seafood/crab ball thingies. If you like fried oysters then I can guarantee you won't be disappointed :).

Date of visit: July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank shoulders3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Ordered a dozen fried coconut shrimp with their dipping sauce. It was amazing. Price was $12 and came with 2 sides. The menu is written on a white board and it is extensive.They have a nice outside courtyard that I enjoyed. Or you can sit in an enclosed area. One has a big screen TV for sports. Fun place.Great food.Cold beer!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank roadwarriorxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Shrimp & Stuff Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing