We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lasker Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galveston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lasker Inn
Ranked #1 of 11 Galveston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Denton, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

My daughters wedding was in Galveston last weekend and we all stayed at the Lasker. You could not have asked for a better place to stay. Service was excellent, rooms are very large and comfortable, and they create a great atmosphere that lasts for weeks. You won't want to leave.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronnie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    0
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
36
47
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

After our last cruise we stayed at the Lasker Inn. The welcome we received was phenomenal. Linda picked us up at the cruise terminal. Linda drove us to the wonderful fish restaurant we ate at that first evening. The next day we wanted to visit Moody Gardens ,the science center. Linda's husband drove us. Talk about hospitality. Honest, we are not related. I called my daughter , who lives in Austin TX,when I got back to Canada. I told her, if you ever travel to Galveston stay at the Lasker Inn.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I were looking for a romantic night away from Houston, and the Lasker Inn was perfect. We both like places with history and atmosphere, and the Lasker Inn has both. The owners have done a marvellous job decorating the interior of the house, providing all modern comfort while respecting and accentuating the building's historic importance. The breakfast is served a little on the late side (9:30), but is a great mix of sweet and savory, each dish clearly prepared with love and finesse. Our host Richard made us feel very much at home from start to finish. Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vicky_vdG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

My now husband and I knew Linda and Richard Denson before our plans to incorporate the Lasker into our wedding, but they still blew us away with the accommodations and service! We had my family stay before and after the wedding on December 21st, and let me just say, it became like home. Richard Connor, our host, was amazing and welcomed us from the get-go with delicious snack spreads and drinks. Our every whim was fulfilled, and I feel like he is part of the family now. The accommodations of each room are truly world-class; antique charm with modern amenities and comfort. The stay was so comfortable and home-like, complete with gorgeous Christmas decorations. The breakfast was also out-of-this-world; home-made casseroles, eggs, pancakes, pastries and cream- you name it, they had it!

Billy Joe, my husband, and I also chose for our rehearsal dinner to be hosted by the Lasker. It was truly beyond what I could have envisioned, from the gorgeous Christmas table decor to the candlelit settings. We had the BEST meal, and it is so nice to hang out at the Lasker's antique bar. After our wedding and rehearsal on that Saturday, our families came back to the Lasker to spend time together while we went off on our own. From what I heard, they were up half the night having an amazing time, and even had Richard join in on the fun!

Richard and Linda Denson, thank-you for your gorgeous bed and breakfast, it is truly world-class and competes with all places I've ever stayed in terms of hospitality, comfort, and food.

Richard Connor, thank-you for making the Lasker like a home for us and being such a gracious host...we had TOO much fun :)

Please do not hesitate to use the Lasker for an event, get-together, or just a nice stay. It WILL NOT disappoint!

Love,
Billy Joe and Maddie Strawn

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madcappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

Let me start off by saying my husband and I travel 3-4 times a year and Lasker Inn is rated in top 3. We took a 3 night trip to Galveston for my 40th birthday and decided to stay at the Lasker Inn based on the reviews. Normally that's how we decide on where we going to stay. Richard, our host did an excellent job. He was there for anything we needed. A very nice guy. We booked the Windward Suite and once we got there we learned we had been upgraded to "The Grand" because no one had booked that particular room. Three letters 'OMG'. The room is huge. As stated in previous reviews there were fresh flowers, chocolates, and lime water every night we were there in our room. This B & B should be rated #1. The home is very beautiful and close to everything. Richard did a good job with breakfast also. We had the entire dining area to ourselves. Even though it rained the entire time in Galveston last weekend I wouldn't have trade it for anything. I have told all our friends about the Lasker Inn. My husband and I are already planning another stay there soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronjrich13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

I had the wonderful opportunity to visit The Lasker in September for a couple of days with my sister. I could have stayed for a week just enjoying the beautiful, perfectly restored old mansion. The host/owner, Linda, is fabulous! Always smiling, gracious and on top of everything. Even the bed sheets were top of the line...600 count Egyptian cotton! I can't wait to get some for my home. Lasker is an amazing, memorable, gorgeous and gracious place!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachweddings96815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband used Tripadvisor to tell us about this brand new Bed & Breakfast in Galvaston. All of the reviews were correct... plus more. It is an incredibly stunning jewel that has been updated and while maintaining it's stunning original charm I didn't worry I may be harming the old structure by staying in it or using any of it's amazing facilities. Each room was beautifully decorated and the couple that own this, Richard and Linda, went out of their way to make us feel welcome and wanted. We felt incredibly pampered from water in our rooms, chocolate and a stocked bar but I think they were just treating us as family. Excited to come back again very soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Galveston hotels
0.7 mi away
The Tremont House A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.8 mi away
Harbor House
Harbor House
#4 of 52 in Galveston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Galveston Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lost Bayou Guest House
Lost Bayou Guest House
#3 of 11 in Galveston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Galvez & Spa A Wyndham Grand Hotel
0.7 mi away
Avenue O Bed and Breakfast
Avenue O Bed and Breakfast
#4 of 11 in Galveston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lasker Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lasker Inn

Property: The Lasker Inn
Address: 1019 16th St, Galveston, Galveston Island, TX 77550-4903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Texas > Texas Gulf Coast > Galveston Island > Galveston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Galveston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
c.1870 Greek Revival 9000 sq ft home and ballroom. The island's premier luxury venue, featuring lavish and sophisticated, yet charming suites with first class amenities. The Lasker, graciously accommodating, central to the beaches, National Historic Strand District, and the Arts and Entertainment District. Plan an elegant wedding, stylish business retreat or family vacation. Experience "The Lasker" opulence defined. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing