We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food / great view too”
Review of Fish Tales

Fish Tales
Reserve with OpenTable
Fish Tales is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #29 of 315 Restaurants in Galveston
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Independence, IA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“good food / great view too”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This place is right directly across from the new Pleasure Pier. We ate upstairs, and outside. It was windy, but the tables are sheltered a bit. Good food if you like seafood :)

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank spendthriftsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    417
    228
    110
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Casual Seafood Dining Overlooking the Gulf!”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

You have many options available to you for fish dishes! The 'starters' are a must try! Very good, very fresh! The same is true about the entrees! Choices available are from fried fish and chips to a wonderful grilled fish dinner! Very good, very fresh! You have superb service, a wonderful view (upper balcony which is covered, ground floor or 2nd floor dining rooms!) Easy parking, across the street from The Pleasure Pier, I highly recommend this very casual restaurant where you can pop in for a delicious ice cream, sit outside to enjoy it, or have a drink, snack or full dinner!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank islandpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
napa ca
Level Contributor
109 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great view and value”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We had a very nice early dinner at Fish Tales, waitress was fantastic. Food was generous, had the shrimp trio and another family member had the Yellow fin tuna. Food was good not great. View is worth the experience across from the "Pleasure Pier" on the gulf. Restaurant was a little "tired" maybe from so many tourists, needed some freshening up and a good cleaning. All in all we were pleased and would return.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosie9855
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good food slow service”
Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

We stopped here since many of the restaurants were closed. The food was very good, however the wait was horrible for an empty restaurant,i would not go here if you are in a time crunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katykat33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUGAR LAND
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Average seafood”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

The atmosphere is unbeatable. Amazing view of the ocean if you eat outside and right across the street from the pleasure pier. The day I went it was really busy so service was not great and it took a long time to get our food and drinks. The menu seems to be all fresh seafood so yes it is kind of pricey. I ordered a pina colada and the crab cake sandwich. The drink was very good but kind of pricey (7.99). The crab cake sandwich was fresh and you could taste the spices but I did not like it on the bun. Way too much bread, I didn't eat it. My sister had the coconut shrimp which I tried and it was really good. Crispy, and kind of sweet.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CASEY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Fish Tales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing