We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Corned beef hash tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mosquito Cafe

Mosquito Cafe
Ranked #7 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
tx
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Corned beef hash tacos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

I love corned beef (real stuff, not from a can), so I always look for restaurants with it when I travel. I found an article that mentioned that mosquito cafe has corned beef tacos and knew we had to visit. We were staying just a few blocks away so it was very convenient. The tacos were very filling, with corned beef and potatoes in the tacos and 2 eggs on the side. My husband had the breakfast bowl which was ok, but he didn't love. The prices are a bit high, but it's not Denny's type food! :) I enjoyed the food and would go back. It's not the best corned beef that I've ever had, but the tacos were tasty and filling.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank water0125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    615
    301
    77
    26
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Brunch With a Mosquito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

On a recent trip to Galveston we were seeking a special place to have breakfast. The tram tour guide recommended the Mosquito Cafe. We had a great breakfast and enjoyed the food. It was served fresh and hot out of the kitchen. You place your order as you come in the door and then they bring your meal to your table. There is no table service. We are planning to go back to Galveston next year and will certainly plan another nosh at the Mosquito.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frieda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
2 reviews
“Fantastic Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

Wednesday 8/13 Great breakfast this morning at Mosquito Cafe in Galveston. Highly recommend the corned beef hash breakfast burrito.
Definitely will be back every time we get back to Galveston, for sure!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Great Variety of healthy and tasty dishes. Friendly and helpful staff. Cant' wait to go again Great value as well.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Freshly prepared food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

On our visits to Galveston this is one of our favourites. Great menu and food is freshly prepared. Siiting is available outside with shade.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosquito Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mosquito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing