We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Galveston Find”
Review of Mosquito Cafe

Mosquito Cafe
Ranked #6 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Always fresh fresh fresh! Everything here is great! Would recommend highly. THere is a wait on Sunday mornings but have a mimosa!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KatyTexchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review! We truly appreciate your feedback and your business. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

771 - 775 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2013

As others have said, the line was out the door but that's a good thing when it comes to a great place to eat breakfast. We were afraid we'd have to wait forever for a table but that wasn't the case - there were plenty of open tables and the line was a result of waiting at the counter to place your order.

My grown daughter, who had recently had surgery, sat at a table while I waited in line. She was told by a rude server that she couldn't sit unless she had food in front of her. I assumed this was a rule that we as tourists didn't know, so my daughter acquiesced. As we were eating, we did notice other people were sitting at tables without food in front of them. When I questioned the server about this she said she didn't always have time to police everyone. Really? And why would she ever have to "police" the patrons?

Though our breakfasts were delicious, that rude reception made it an unpleasant visit. I have to give this place a total of three stars because of their food, but we won't return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Saxxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

I'm terribly sorry that your experience wasn't top notch. We do our best to make sure that guests sit at a table only after they have ordered. This policy makes sure that there are tables available for the guests who have already ordered, we're just trying to make it fair and keep it first come first served. There are a few exceptions to the policy, those who are not physically able to stand in line, expectant mothers, and guests (6 or more) that have called ahead to reserve a table. Again I apologize for the perception that we were policing patrons but we're doing our best to keep everything in order to give everyone a fair experience. We hope you'll come visit us again and know that there will not be a rude reception.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

We both ordered the Green Chili Cheese Burger (can't remember what it's called on the menu) and a side. The burgers were better than the last time we visited but we were still a little disappointed. The chilies were chopped in a relish rather than the whole chili and lots of garlic mixed with them. They were still good and I imagine we'll continue to dine there when we go to Galveston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jteble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had been told to go try this place out but when we got there and saw the line out the door we knew it was good. The food is amazing. Very short menu but they do amazing job of everything. Everything is homemade and you can tell. Do not leave without trying their baked goods. You will be full from breakfast but save a treat for later.

Thank Charlene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

During our girls' weekend in Galveston, we ate lunch here. The line was put the door when we got there, but it moved fairly quickly. The menu had so many delicious sounding items. All 6 of us ordered different entrees and we thought our food was wonderful. I would definitely return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Elizabeth37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosquito Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mosquito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing