We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip and trendy cafe - a welcome treat during our stay.”
Review of Mosquito Cafe

Mosquito Cafe
Ranked #6 of 316 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We were visiting from Seattle, after a cruise and found this cozy little cafe. I loved all the decor touches throughout the place. The atmosphere was casual and the food was delicious. So many dishes to choose from! From the healthy to the comfort items, and they had an extensive "daily special" list on the chalkboard. Even items to please my picky youngest daughter. The salads were huge and totally hit the spot. I wish I would have saved room for something from the pasty case - oh MY they all looked amazing (and I am a bit of a dessert snob). We arrived for an early dinner and they place filled up before we left.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Christaadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Thank you for your wonderful review, kind words, and your business! Our atmosphere is casual dining with a touch of being at home while providing premium quality food for fair/reasonable prices. We keep a wide array of menu items so there is something for everyone and it seems to be working! Thanks again we truly appreciate your visit, please come back and see us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

882 - 886 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2013

We totally enjoyed our breakfast here! The baked goods are awesome, the granola is fantastic, and the coffee....some of the best cafe coffee we ever had! Yikes, it was good! Walk around the neighborhood, too. Very cool!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Zylon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind words and for choosing to dine with us! We take pride in providing premium quality food and drinks at reasonably fair prices. Don't forget to come visit us again when you visit Galveston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

There was a darling baby, his parents and 4 grandparents and we needed a place to eat lunch on New Year's Day! We were lucky to find the Mosquito Cafe and had wonderful food in a relaxed, charming environment. Thanks for a great experience!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GailGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2013

Thank you for choosing to dine with us and share the start of your new year with us! We wanted to provide a special New Year treat for everyone by opening early and having our brunch available until 3pm. It was well received by everyone and we look forward to making it a tradition! From our family to yours Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The Mosquito Cafe has really good and gratifying entrees with a variety that is surely able to please most diners. In addition, their baked goods are really special and finish off a good meal. Seating is downstairs, upstairs and outside. Some of the best eating on the island if sandwiches are what you seek.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zepper50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for you business and wonderful feedback! Our wide range of fresh American fare should suit just about anyone like you said. Our bakery is magical when it comes to producing our baked goods. I appreciate your feedback and look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great eatery serving home-made food! We had a wonderful breakfast with fresh squeezed orange juice. Don't know if the coffee is always great but the day we went, it was fantastic (and we are selective). The place is bright and airy, wait staff was friendly and efficient (order at the counter and they bring your food). Some items on the menu change daily so food is fresh, they don't do fried stuff. And they have a bakery next door! Skip the chain restaurants and try this cafe instead!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank agiToki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James C, General Manager at Mosquito Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of dining with us. Our concept is to provide premium quality food and premium beverages at reasonable/fair prices. Our friendly warm staff will always be as efficient and helpful as possible. Come visit us again when you're in the neighborhood!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mosquito Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mosquito Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing