We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only so-so” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Saltwater Grill

Saltwater Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltwater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st Street
Description: The Saltwater Grill is located just steps away from The Grand 1894 Opera House. Featuring an array of tantalizing fresh-from-the-grill and fresh-from-the-kettle seafood specialties, Saltwater Grill is in a class of its own when it comes to quality and attention to detail.
Justin, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Only so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lobster bisque Luke warm, with just a few pieces of something in it. Not much flavor. Seafood linguine had two shrimp, two scallops and a couple of pieces of crabmeat. Sauce was hot, again just not much flavor. Red snapper ponchatrain was bland but fish was fresh. Was looking for fresh local seafood but found a meal I could have just about anywhere. Service was prompt.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 2010loveditaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brittany r, Public Relations Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We sincerely apologize for your experience at Saltwater Grill. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. Quality and consistency are two things we strive for in our food and service. We encourage you to give us another shot, as I'm sure the restaurant must have been having an off day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    93
    41
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Casual but Elegant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Wide and ate here late one weekday evening off-season and needed an opportunity to talk and relax. PERFECT! Still a subdued bustle for atmosphere, but private and quiet. Service and food was excellent. A bit pricey but worth it. Would definitely down here again. Probably a different atmosphere earlier and/or weekend, but a very friendly and relaxed place.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Yezman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
100 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Best Place We Have Had Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Loved the quite peaceful atmosphere of the Saltwater Grill. Our waitress, Staci, wad friendly, helpful, and attentive. I ordered the Sweet Potato Crusted Catfish which was wonderful. After the fried asparagus and Saltwater Salad it was the perfect entree. It will be the best dinner and service you will find in Galveston.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NaniC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Level Contributor
188 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service had glitches”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

This was not our first choice. However, the owner at Pacos recommended it and we had a great meal.

In all fairness, we were all from out of town and really wanted their specialties, something we can't get back home. TJ was our server (we sat at the bar) and although we were a little high-maintenance with many questions, he seemed to be having a bad day and was quickly put off towards us. There was probably some confusion about serving size and such, but he gave great recommendations and got a good tip. I was not impressed however that the other server (the wonderful gentleman manning the soup station) took our issues to the manager. He never came over to address us until we'd asked a 2nd time. By then, we were almost done and just dismissed him when he did arrive. Not a good sign of a great restaurant.

We shared a bottle of La Crema pinot noir and it was wonderful. The gumbo was supposed to be authentic and delicious, but I've come to realize that I simply do not appreciate gumbo and was not impressed. The marinated tuna tower, coconut shrimp and Texas redfish ponchartrain were out of this world and I'd highly recommend them all! The lobster risotto was delicious but WAY overpriced for the amount of lobster received. The rest of the menu was generous and reasonably priced. For all the items that include rice, I would be sure to ask for it on the side. Otherwise you're filling up on that and not the good stuff it comes with.
The atmosphere was hopping but not loud, very good restaurant, I would return again if Pacos is full.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bonnie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas gulf coast
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“One of a kind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

My wife and I just happened in one evening, and discovered this wonderful establishment so well, we`ve made it one of our "go to" local places when we`re looking for a good time in the downtown area. Conveniently located just across the street from the Galveston Opera House, this restaurant features fresh tastes from the ocean. Lobster, fish, oysters, you name it. My personal favorite, because I like to eat light when I`m and about bar hopping, is the "Bouillabaisse". Which is a French Style Stew with Fish, Shrimp, Dungeness Crab, Clams, Mussels and Vegetables Served in a Delectable Saffron Broth! Awesome.... try it... you`ll like it!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Grill also viewed

 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Saltwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing