We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful evening”
Review of Saltwater Grill

Saltwater Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Saltwater Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 314 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $80
Cuisines: American, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 21st Street
Description: The Saltwater Grill is located just steps away from The Grand 1894 Opera House. Featuring an array of tantalizing fresh-from-the-grill and fresh-from-the-kettle seafood specialties, Saltwater Grill is in a class of its own when it comes to quality and attention to detail.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful evening”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Everything about our dining experience was great. Dined with another couple. My husband and I shared the barbeque oysters with blue cheese. Delish. We shared the house salad and the special entree that night, the red snapper. It was all so good! Our server was Calvin. Service was professional, friendly and well paced. A new favorite restaurant in Galveston!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank susan e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany R, Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Susan!

We are honored that you now consider Saltwater Grill one of your favorites! Come back anytime and thanks for giving us your feedback!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    97
    48
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“YUMMY!!!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

So many choices but finally decided on the Coconut Almond Crusted Grilled Salmon with fresh asian vegetables! Friends had BBQ Shrimp, another had a pasta dish and they were all Excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sherry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany R, Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Sherry!

Good to hear you enjoyed yourself at Saltwater Grill! We look forward to your next visit with us. Thanks for the review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Bouillabaisse was excellent”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went and started with the Chardonnay Mussels which were excellent. I had the bouillabaisse for dinner and it was right on target. Our server struggled with pouring a beer several times, but overall the service was good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chuck659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany R, Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello Chuck,

Thanks for the review! We're so happy you enjoyed your meal. We will double check that all of our servers know how to properly pour a beer! We apologize for that. Come back and visit us next time you're on the island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moore, Oklahoma
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice change of pace”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

In the Historic District, very good food with emphasis on fresh seafood, preparation is not run of the mill, the saltwater salad was excellent, enough for 2 people if served with an entree. the mustard vinagrette was excellent and a nice combo with the blue cheese sprinkled on salad. Pot stickers offered as an appetizer were excellent as was the soy type sauce served on the side. Big Daddy gumbo was also flavorful. Atmosphere was nothing special, would probably be the only criticism I have. Somewhat dreary and bland but seemed clean, bar area was nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank threesistersandniece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany R, Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Thanks for the review! We appreciate your feedback and are glad you enjoyed your meal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress TX
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The food is wonderful.”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I had pecan crusted snapper; it was to die for. And Jesse is a great waiter. The location to The Grand Opera House in downtown Galveston.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebonnethorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brittany R, Manager at Saltwater Grill, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
It's great to hear you enjoyed your food and service with us! We encourage you to come back! Thanks for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltwater Grill also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Saltwater Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing