We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Italy”
Review of Luigi's Ristorante Italiano - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Luigi's Ristorante Italiano
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Galveston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A bit of Italy”
Reviewed March 8, 2012

Very good Northern Italian Food set in an old bank building (there's a table in the vault). The restaurant is more formal than most on the Strand but its a good place for an adult dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Saralyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    12
    0
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Almonte, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Good Food, Good Service but Expensive!”
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This is in an old bank building in the historic area. It is very nice inside and the service was good.

I ordered the special veal parmesan and gnocchi and my wife had the lasagna.

My wife is picky about lasagna but liked theirs. My veal and gnocchi was also good. The negative was the price. Mine was a "special", so no price was given. I was charge $30, which I though was very high for what it was, the area and compared to the other dishes.

I can recommend the food but watch out for the pricing of specials. You may get sticker shock!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
805 reviews
627 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Italian Food on the Historic Strand in an Old Bank Building”
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Luigi's has been a favorite of locals and visitors alike for years, but our group (two locals & four "out of town" Texans) had not been since Hurricane Ike. The restaurant was in full swing on a chilly Thursday night in January. We ate in the old bank vault which is a small private dining area that can seat 6-8 comfortably with one side open to the rest of the restaurant. Our service was good and all dishes very tasty. We enjoyed the antipasta platter, the crispy salad with house vinaigrette, the homemade ravioli, the trout, and my hubby(the lasagna snob) even liked his lasagna. the group all said they would return.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank JoInTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“If you like salt...”
Reviewed January 24, 2012

First, the building is very nice. The good ends there. The waitstaff are very unattentive and the food is not cooked very well for the price. I had a piece of carrot from my wife's grilled vegetable plate that had it been a blind taste test I could not have guessed it was a carrot. It was tasteless. My eggplant parmesan was so salty it was almost inedible. We will not return.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AuditMan001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Txq
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

This is a quaint restaurant in the area of the Strand. It is somewhat dark & a romantic atmosphere. The food is exceptional. Staff is very attentive. Large portions.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hotglass78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Luigi's Ristorante Italiano also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing