We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Pizza!”

Mario's Seawall Italian Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We tried their version of the Chicago style pizza. It was wonderful! The wait staff was very attentive, and the restaurant sits right by the water. Nice views, good food, great staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank mobybich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

582 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    132
    64
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
394 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“The food was fine, but the service made it better.”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

It's a small but nicely arranged place. They have lots to choose from, especially pizzas and desserts. Had the Four Seasons pizza and the arugula/proscuito pizza. They were average tasting. Our server, Oksana, was so friendly and though very busy, she stayed on top of everything. We were very pleased with her. Our experience would have been rated much less had it not been for the service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantersville, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Lunch with family”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Fresh and hot buffet, the kids enjoyed trying the different pastas and pizzas. It was well prepared and not the usual "pizza joint" food..the dessert items on display and gelatos were made fresh daily. Recommended it to others and will definitely go back. It's toward the end of Seawall at 7th St. - Go down and try it out.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lady_k_online
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frisco, Texas
2 reviews
“Great waiters - lousy manager!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our dance team (68 people) had a marvelous time at Mario's. Excellent pizza, fabulous shrimp and pasta..wonderful food. Unfortunately, we were not able to give alot of notice (3 hours), but I was told by the manager, Danielle, they could handle our party. We only had 2 waiters (instead of the normal 6), but Gilbert and Benny were more than up to the challenge. They kept everything humming and our food was brought out with virtually no issues (except for 1 meatball that took all night!). These 2 guys were marvelous, had smiles on their faces and always reacted quickly to all the requests coming their way. Everyone enjoyed the atmosphere, excellent food and wonderfully frantic pace Gilbert and Benny kept. Because of them and the food, we will be back!

Amazingly, I almost cancelled the entire evening after we arrived because of the manager. After we were seated and Gilbert and Benny had already taken most of the orders and were starting to have salads delivered, in walked Danielle. This was the first time she had come in to check on us and her first order of business was to count the number of people we had in our party. Then she asked for me and began to berate me that I had called too late, that we had 68 people instead of the 60 people I had reserved for (the banquet room could hold another 20), that she normally has 1 waiter to every 10 people and that I would have to be patient because it would be over an hour before the food would come out. She also chided me for not having everyone there at the same time to be seated and that she had held the dinner orders until everyone was there. In other words, it was my fault that she had accepted reservations for 60 people when she wasn't prepared for it, even though I asked her 3 times if she could handle this size of a party and she assured me she could. No one had complained about anything, she was just busy trying to blame me in case anyone did. Thankfully, cooler heads prevailed and she left never to be heard from again - thus the happy ending!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mdoyle1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gluten Free crust available!”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

Nice spot with a good menu which includes a gluten free crust. Thanks guys! BTW... kids loved playing with the dough you gave us. Even if it literally baked into bread in the car the next day. Oops! Must remember to take it out of the car.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FourFamilyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mario's Seawall Italian Restaurant also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Mario's Seawall Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing