We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner visit, 09/01/13”
Review of Farley Girls Cafe

Farley Girls Cafe
Ranked #37 of 311 Restaurants in Galveston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Texas Monthly Magazine - "This bright, cheery cafe located near the Medical Center enjoys a legion of foodie fans. Weekday lunches feature great salads, sandwiches, po'boys, and one of our faves-tacos loaded with grilled fish, crunchy cabbage slaw, and a house-made rémoulade that brings it all together. On the weekends we return for a brunch of fluffy biscuits topped with sinfully rich cream gravy and a pitcher of mimosas with fresh squeezed OJ. Oh yeah."
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Dinner visit, 09/01/13”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The food was of good quality; however I didn't like coming in and it's usually a deli / board for patrons. For dinner, they covered the board and give patrons menus to look at. Our waiter started off being a girl who sat us down, but it transitioned to a guy who was just not as accommodating as the other wait staff were to other tables. Those other wait staff took over and the service got better. Just made me think, was this red headed guy with glasses a mgr? Hmm. Good food though and very good prices. I would try them again, even with this one drawback. (I hope they improve on dinner service!) And would have loved to see a dessert menu...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SCoutee73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    92
    19
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
127 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our second visit to this restaurant in less than a month, first time my food was excellent after I noticed the French Chicken had blue cheese, but the menu does not indicate that it does, sent it back and they graciously fixed my order, my friend had Shrimp and grits and it was luke warm at best, she did not want to flag the server down as not to complain so she only eat part of her order, the rest when home. Our second trip, my order was cold. I would like to think that these two incidents are isolated at best as this restaurant has a lot of business and the food is good, however the quality of the food must be consistent and must be hot and served hot when the dish calls for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 22Hoteltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
232 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Small cafe next to the hospital very close to the sea wall
Fresh seafood
Great seafood plater
Take the salad with the goat cheese

All dishes were great

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank planotexas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Tx
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best of the island”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Farley Girls. I had no expectations: My trips to Galveston revolve around Shrimp and Stuff and Sunflower, but this is my new favorite. I was surprised by the quality of the food, the value, and the overall service. Highlights for us included the campechana appetizer, the grilled seafood platter, and the steak. I eat at a lot of restaurants, and food at Galveston, beyond basic fried seafood, has felt like a lackluster experience overall. This was different. Excellent service (even ordering at the counter), and some of the best, freshest, strongest iced tea I've ever had. Great meal!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikeflan1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Everything Good”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is a fairly new restaurat that has developed quite a following. The food is down--home scrumptious! Unusual menu items satisfy an eclectic taste. I love the shrimp & grits, prosciutto pizza, chicken patty, and hangover bowl. Mimosas and Bellinis are fantastic as well! Warm atmosphere and courteous staff. Park at the adjacent lot and Farley Girls will validate your ticket.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laheiberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farley Girls Cafe also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Farley Girls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing