We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”
Review of Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood - CLOSED

Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Pocahontas, Arkansas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Some friends and I were in Galveston and wanted some seafood for lunch when we happened upon Flamingos Steaks & Seafood. I remember thinking i'll bet this place is pricey, judging by the exterior, but was I pleasantly surprised. They had a lunch menu with a good selection for $8.95 the portions were generous and delicious. The service was great and the people seemed very nice. I definitely recommend this restaurant if you are in Galveston, TX.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We returned 3 times during vacation and month later spent long weekend in Galveston and made sure we had dinner again at Flamingo's! Nice atmosphere, had excellent wait staff, especially Monica. I had grouper one night, it was good, but did need alittle sweet spice chutney of some kind, she quickly came back with just the right thing. The grill oysters are incredible! Had them every time we went. Even at lunch, had the oysters and a hamburger which was just as good. The deserts...wow! The chocolate cake for two, very rich and yummy. Bread pudding was a little bland. Watching the crawfish races was fun too. A lively and classy place! Next time we will sit outside overlooking the water.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Layne1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copperas Cove, Texas, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Outstanding place for dinner! A pleasure unique experience!”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

James was an outstanding server, great sense of humor, saw to all our needs and was most attentive ! Highly and strongly recommend flamingo you won't be disappointed! Don't forget to try the to die for oysters flamingo!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diana C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Good Service”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had a special evening out at Flamingo's to celebrate a birthday and we were not disappointed. I like my tuna on the rare side and it was just right. Roasted potatoes and veggies were also nicely done. The Jambalaya bowl was ample with a great variety of seafood: crab leg, clams, scallops, etc as well as chicken, etc. The gumbo, too was very good. Brian, our server, was knowledgeable and took care of us nicely. The wine selection was not extensive but it had what we wanted, with a reasonable price. (Not inexpensive, mind you, but they didn't knock us in the head with the mark-up.) Brian told us about the happy hour in the bar area with reduced prices for name brand liquors and a special menu of nibbles, but it is only for the bar - not the restaurant. Good to know for sometime when we just want to drink and nosh. The place was not crowded and it was a Monday night. My other experience at Flamingo's was for lunch and it was just as good. It is not an inexpensive meal, but in line with similar high end restaurants.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RJ56Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Barely average experience for above average prices”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The service here was half decent, however, the food was not worth the money. To the waiter's credit, he told us that our food was taking so long because the kitchen had burnt my husband's steak, so he did not bring it out to us. However, the one that he then brought was RAW. My husband orders rare and this was even too underdone for him. So it was a very slow service to say the least. They did comp us a glass of wine, however, I asked for it in lieu of the waiting. For the price, we would have been better off at Outback I am sad to say.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank NCTexan2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing