We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great seafood!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood - CLOSED

Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Duncanville, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great seafood!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

The red snapper was an excellent choice. It was fresh and flavorful. People at the table next to ours ordered it from the smell of my wife's plate. If there are no tables, eat using bar full service, as we did. This is truly an upgrade from the Chinese Buffet that had this spot before Hurricane Ike.$$

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank LTCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    10
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
268 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fairly good dinner in Galveston”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We dined here with another couple recently and enjoyed.

Don't get the gumbo. Not good
Instead, get the Oyster's Flamingo. Excellent baked oysters.

The rest of the dishes we had were fried fish and shrimp. All were good.
It is a bit pricey though.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CTK27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We ordered the stuffed oysters (can't remember the exact name). It was an oyster on a half shell, topped with a shrimp, and some kind of breadcrumbs/stuffing. I want to eat them every day and I've never been a huge oyster fan.
For my meal I ordered the seafood platter - SO MUCH FOOD. Seriously, split this plate. It's about 4 halved fish fillets/sticks, 4 shrimp, 4 fried oysters, 4 fried scallops, 3 jalapeno hush puppies, seasoned french fries.....I can't even remember if that's all. It was really great. I usually don't like hush puppies but theirs are fabulous.
My only complaint is against the scallops, whoever invented fried scallops was wrong, they had absolutely no flavor.
Our waitress was amazing, I wish I could remember her name so that she could get credit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mhurleygirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEXAS
Level Contributor
109 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My parents took me to Flamingo for my BIrthday dinner, this is the second time we have been. Both times the food has been exceptional, the service is phenominal. We like that the manager (s) are always around to greet you and make sure everything is great. Service at Flamingo is service you wish you got everywhere. They are doing things "Right".

My Dad just happened to mention an off the wall appetizer he had eons ago somewhere and our waitress Kellie says oh its not on our menu but they can make that for you, and they did it was fabulous.

A-1 Food and Service, a must go---

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KVAMPBELLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, Texas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“1st Visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Decided to give Flamingo's a try tonight. Upon arrival we were seated promptly and drink orders taken. It took awhile to receive our drinks and we did notice that the waiter was really busy, so I wont fault him for that. I ordered from the appetizer menu their "Flamingo Oysters", they were grilled oysters (12) topped with crab meat and a shrimp. The oysters were all less than an inch long but very good flavor. My wife had the "Shrimp Sampler" which had 3 cracker battered shrimp, 2 pecan crusted and 2 almond coated shrimp with a side of fries and slaw. The shrimp had a really fresh taste and were plump . She commented that "I should've ordered all cracked battered shrimp". I had for dessert a dozen oysters on the half shell that were excellent to complete our meal. Overall for a newly opened place on the Island it is a very good place to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TulsaRay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flamingo's Steaks and Seafood also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing