We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stuff to do but shady people watching tourists”

Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier
Mount Sterling, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stuff to do but shady people watching tourists”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Theres stuff to do here but everything has a price. Its not in the best part of town, especially south of it, we had some shady people looking into vehicles and watching non locals, I probably would not go back just because I did not feel safe.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lestep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    419
    430
    260
    114
    93
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun for the rides - don't waste $ on games!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Had read bad reviews on this but our teenage son needed a break from the beach so we spent about 2 hours here. Went early so didn't worry about lines, several rides, and for those who liked this kind of thing you could repeat as much as you wanted. Plus some of the rides went out over the water so that was kind of neat. Thought the price was reasonable for those 48 in and over. You pay one price $27 for as many rides as you want - not sure of the price for kids. For the younger set (determined by height minimums) not as much to choose from so may not be a good deal. The carnival games are priced separately and we do feel these were a ripoff though - $5 to throw 3 balls? So we didn't do any of those.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dj3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun at Pleasure Pier”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

While staying on Crystal Beach, we took a day to go to Galveston and took the family to Pleasure Pier. Rides for all ages and everyone had a great time....I didn't ride but the $10 was worth watching all the fun. Best advice is to get there early and get your money's worth. Everything was very clean including the bathrooms.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lindhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“family vacation”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

This place is a great family attraction. The kids were very excited with all the rides and games. The candy shop was a great hit but the best was Bubba Gump's!We all loved the food and the ambiance, it was a lot of fun especially if you get to sit out in the balcony looking down at the beach...great view!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 4EZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unexpected fun ”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

While in Galveston with some friends, one of them being from Canada, we decided that the $10 per person would be worth it for our friend from abroad to experience the pier. None of knew what to expect but all 4 of us were very pleased with the overall experience. Minus the long wait to get something to drink.

Helpful?
Thank JroyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing