We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DIS-Pleasure Pier” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier

Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DIS-Pleasure Pier”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

I was severly disappointed in this. Their website is very misleading regarding the rides. WIth the exception of two rides, they are all very scaled down kid size versions. My husband and I went while celebrating our 1st anniversary and my opinion is, we may as well have thrown $20 out into the gulf. If you have money and small children, this would be a great place to go. (A 4 star rating perhaps) If you're having an adult only date, take my advice and go have a few drinks or enjoy happy hour somewhere with the money you would have wasted walking on to the pier. Not to mention the $10 you also have to pay for parking.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mcmama2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    373
    394
    231
    105
    83
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Love the Pleasure Pier!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Pleasure Pier is an absolute wonderful addition to Galveston, replacing the hurricane damaged hotel with this is better than expected.
It's a little pricey, but with an all day pass, you can go in the morning, and return at night. You can also purchase a walk on pass, or a partial pass. Prepare to pay for parking. There is a nice safe lot across the street, and Galveston has implemented pay parking along the seawall. If you don't mind walking a good distance you may be able to park somewhere else for free. Games, food, drinks and rides. There is a little bit of something for any age group.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank nikkytexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston Island, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Totally disgusted with security”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

I watched two "security" guys harassing a few young people, for over an hour, they made them so uncomfortable that the group of 20-somethings ended up leaving. it started as "pull up your pants" and ended with threats of body search, police, and expulsion from the park. i have never seen a group of well-dressed, preppy youngsters treated so poorly without cause. there were plenty of people filming it with their smart phones so there's proof of the harassment out there. i emailed the contact info on the website (when i got home), and it was returned to me as a bad email address. go figure.

it's not worth the price of admissions, and bubba gumps was nasty.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Carriehowser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
409 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Find your inner child or take someone special at night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

You're never to old to have fun & this is the place to do it. Even more fun at night with tho lights reflecting off the water.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachbreeze66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I drove down to Galveston for our anniversary a few months ago. The Pleasure Pier is a really cool site as you drive down the boulevard. Its pricey, but for us, it was a once in a lifetime experience. We rode the ferris wheel and had a wonderfully fun time.

Helpful?
Thank Melschliebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing