We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pay to walk around? BYE!”

Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
394 reviews
87 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 294 helpful votes
“Pay to walk around? BYE!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We walked along the beach to the pier and up to the entrance and as soon as we saw the prices and the fact that you have to pay to enter, we walked away. Sorry, but I have been to several piers that are much much bigger and in larger cities and have never had to pay just to walk around. There weren't that many people on the pier either Guess we're not the only ones who wouldn't pay for THAT!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank djz032070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    382
    397
    240
    107
    85
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pricey yet fun!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

I went with some friends and our kids. I wish you didn't have to pay $10 to walk around they should at least bring down the price to $5. Its bad enough we have to pay $28 to ride. Not as many rides as Kemah Boardwalk. Food is pricey as well so make sure and eat before you come. Overall it's ok but Kemah boardwalk is a much better deal! They should have build a train around it...

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cellainhouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Waste of Time and Money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

This place is a total waste of money and time. If you want to do the pay by ride deal it is about 5.00 per ride. You have to pay for everything here including admission..

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank crew4ae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

My family of six had a blast! I have a 12, 15 and 18 year old. Loved it! Beautiful views from some of the rides. We didnt think it was too pricey plus you can pay $10 to just walk around and not ride rides. Food is pricey but Wendys is across the street :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank samack3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Adds to the Beach Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Pleasure Pier has been a great addition the the Galveston Beach experience. It is rather expensive, from the entrance fee to the ride fees but it is worth a trip at least once! My daughter loves to surf close to it because it is fun to hear the music while in the water!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Galveston Island Historic Pleasure Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing