We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super location, good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe's Crab Shack

Joe's Crab Shack
Ranked #201 of 308 Restaurants in Galveston
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Super location, good meal”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had a splendid time, wasn't crowded, nice evening, sat outside with setting sun ect. Crab meals were very good and the mason jar drinks were tasty. Really the atmosphere was everything. My wife literally gasped when we got the bill but you get what ya' pay for...and it was mostly $17.95 drinks.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AKcharger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    21
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Albany, MS
Level Contributor
131 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great food and fun”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We had a view of the harbor. I loved the stuffed mushrooms and crab dip and my husband had a steamed crab pot. Our server, Meagan was fun and efficient.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“First experience at Joe's”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Family likes seafood but Joe hates it (I'm Joe). However, we decided to give Joe's a shot while visiting Galveston for a weekend. Couple of issues here, first is that the kitchen is extemely slow! Our server was for the most part attentive, however we sat and waited a long while when there were maybe 3 other tables in the place for our food. My chicken sandwich was way overcooked (I know, it's a seafood place, but it's not that hard to grill a chicken breast). Wife and kids enjoyed their food and the beer was good and cold. Overall, we would visit Joe's again, just not this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JKBKJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Keep on walking...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Waited 30 mins to sit. Waited 1 hour plus for food. Poor service, weak manager who apologized with plethora of excuses from short staffed, backlog, etc.

Truly a waste of our time and holiday.

Use to like Joe's, but no more.

Skip it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank williaml404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Would not return”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We like and frequent Joe's Crab Shack and had a late lunch at this one when on vacation and in Galveston. Very dissapointing...the food was good; but the service was terrible. There were four five people working and they seemed like they couldn't care less. Our drink order sat at the bar as we waited and watched while the serving staff chatted amonst themselves. Our food took a very long time and as I said was good - but then we sat with the table full of dirty plates and no one to clean off the table. We would have stayed for another drink and maybe some dessert; but no one asked. I ended up going and waiting by the door to pay and we left. Will go to Joes again - but not in this location.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ykbuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Joe's Crab Shack also viewed

Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 
Galveston, Galveston Island
Galveston, Galveston Island
 

Been to Joe's Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing